Named in honor of Harry E. Wilson, the fifth president of the USVBA (1969-1971), and the principal representative to the FIVB for many years. In 1990, the Community Service Award was broadened in scope and renamed the Distinguished Service Award to include persons and organizations throughout the world. This award currently recognizes persons who have made significant contributions to their national federation, as well as to the FIVB, and who have made an impact on the international game.

1990: Dr. Harold T. Friermood (USA)
1991: Volleyball Hall of Fame (Holyoke, Mass.)
1992: Leonard C. Gibson (USA)
1993: Robert L. Lindsay (USA)
1994: William W. Baird (USA)
1995: Dr. Rubén Acosta Hernandez (Switzerland)
1996: Dr. James E. Coleman (USA), Dr. Endre Holvay (Hungary)
1997: Douglas P. Beal (USA)
2000: Rebecca B. Howard (USA)
2001: Glen G. Davies (USA)
2002: Wilbur H. Peck (USA)
2004: John L. Kessel (USA)
2008: Tom Blue (USA)
2009: Kerry Klostermann
2010: Robert (Bob) Ctvrtlik
2014: Joseph Sharpless
2016: Peter Diamond