Height: 6'0"
Position: Catcher - R/R
Hometown: La Verne, California
School: UCLA
Graduation: 2002


Olympic Silver Medalist (2008)
World Cup Champion (2006)
Two-time World Champion (2002 & 2006)
Two-time Olympic Gold Medalist (2000 & 2004)
Two-time Pan American Gold Medalist (1999 & 2003)


2011: Served as Assistant Coach for WNT
2008: Silver medalist at the Olympic Games in Beijing, China
2006: Gold medalist at ISF World Championship and World Cup
- Hit .241 (7-for-29) with three home runs and eight RBI with nine starts behind the plate (World Championship)
- Scored the winning run in the championship game at the World Cup with a solo home run in the fourth 2005: Gold medalist at Pan Am qualifier and Silver medalist at Japan Cup and World Cup
- Hit .429 (3-17) with four RBI, three runs and two home runs
2004: Gold medalist at Olympic Games in Athens, Greece
- Hit .313 (5-16) with two homeruns and five RBI; posted no errors in 46 chances at catcher
2003: Gold medalist at Pan American Games
2002: Gold medalist at ISF World Championships
- Hit .409 (9-22) with nine RBI and three runs
2001: Gold medalist at U.S. Cup
2000:Gold medalist at Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia
- Hit .365 during pre-Olympic tour, with 10 home runs and 28 RBI
1999: Gold medalist at Pan American Games
- Hit .474 including three home runs
1995: Gold medalist at Junior Women’s World Championship

NCAA all-time career leader in home runs (90) and slugging percentage (.945)
Four-time NFCA First-team All American
Three-time Pac-10 Player of the Year (1999, 2001-02)
Inaugural USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year (2002)
Led UCLA to four Women’s College World Series appearances


At 29 years old, I am fourth oldest on the team. In 2000, I was the youngest member of the Olympic team. My birthday is April 26, 1978. I was born and raised in Southern California, but now live in Central California. Mark and I have been married for four years, and we welcomed our first son, Chase, into the world on June 6, 2007. Being a Mom is the BEST thing that has ever happened to me! My favorite thing about Chase is that he wakes up with a smile on his face...he’s a morning person. So am I. My new favorite smell is the top of Chase’s head after a bath. Chase is already a big boy, so we’re waiting for the first wave of calls from agents wanting to represent him. I say baseball, Mark says football...maybe chess or ballet. We’ll see. We have two rescue dogs, Athens and Sydney, and are wondering what animal we will get next so we can have a pet named Beijing. I still use my maiden name, Nuveman, but eventually will change my last name to Deniz. So try not to call my husband Mark Nuveman...that wouldn’t go over too well. I enjoy reading, but don’t have much time for it these days. I also enjoy cooking but I’m too impatient...with food I’m all about immediate gratification. I love the internet, but I don’t like excessive instant messaging, or technological overload. We have forgotten how to speak, write, spell, and communicate properly. I do have a Blackberry but somehow that seems different. I really enjoy my work in broadcasting, and am an aspiring play-by-play announcer. I love the beach but love the mountains more. The first thing I’m going to do when I retire from softball is go on a two week skiing trip. Skiing, not snowboarding. I’m old school.