About Festival

Sun, fun, turkey legs and field hockey sticks all in one place has been a staple of the National Hockey Festival for decades. Held each Thanksgiving weekend, thousands of athletes, coaches, umpires and fans alike come together from across the United States and Canada to celebrate the best game on earth.

With the year 2021 marking the 40th edition, Festival continues to be one of the largest field hockey tournaments in the nation and the world for an experience that can’t be beat.

Learn about the National Hockey Festival history.


TheTournament Sportsplex of Tampa Bay is a multi-sport championship facility designed to bring elite tournaments to the area. The facility, located in Southeast Hillsborough County, is centrally located to the airport, interstates and downtown Tampa.

  • Fifteen (15) full-sized fields (including one championship field
  • Professionally maintained celebration Bermudagrass playing surface
  • Premium LED field lighting - providing 50-foot candles on the championship field and 30-foot candles on the other fields
  • Permanent restrooms on site
  • Wi-Fi available throughout the facility
  • 330 parking spots with additional grass overflow lots

Address: 9330 E Columbus Drive, Tampa, FL 33619

Map out your own adventure in Tampa Bay. Discover the endless variety of dining and entertainment options. Save money with dozens of deals on shopping and attractions. Take pride in the diversity and openness on display across Florida’s Most dynamic destination. Choose your own way to navigate the heart of Florida’s west coast. These guides put the entire destination in the palm of your hand.

Download the Tampa Bay Digital Guides.


  • Originally beginning in 1922, the National Hockey Festival's main focus was to bring the top college-aged and older athletes together from reach region to compete in a 3-day competition that fell during the Thanksgiving weekend. The winner was deemed the national champions and it also served as the U.S. Women's National Team trials.

  • In 1975 the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) added the first national collegiate tournament. The first edition of the event was held at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Va. and was the beginning structure of what most are familiar with as today's postseason collegiate play. This took away the emphasis of the National Tournament.

  • In 1981 the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) took over the collegiate tournament, ending the AIAW. With the official postseason tournament now under a structured organization, the focus shifted for the National Tournament and instead of being an event only for college-aged and older athletes, it was opened up to high school clubs.
  • The event was then rebranded to be called Hockey Festival, and later changed to National Hockey Festival.
  • The very first Hockey Festival took place from November 25-29, 1981 in Orlando, Fla. behind the corporate building of Martin-Marietta Corporation. This event included 47 club teams.
  • 2021: Tampa, Fla.
  • 2020: Advance, N.C. & Virginia Beach, Va. (event did not take place because of COVID-19)
  • 2019: Tampa, Fla.
  • 2018: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2017: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2016: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2015: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 2014: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 2013: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2012: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2011: Phoenix, Ariz.
  • 2010: Phoenix, Ariz.
  • 2009: Indio, Calif.
  • 2008: Indio, Calif.
  • 2007: Indio, Calif.
  • 2006: Indio, Calif.
  • 2005: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2004: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2003: Indio, Calif.
  • 2002: Indio, Calif.
  • 2001: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2000: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1999: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1998: Indio, Calif.
  • 1997: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 1996: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1995: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 1994: Seminole County, Fla.
  • 1993: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1992: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1991: Coca, Fla.
  • 1990: Coca, Fla.
  • 1989: Salisburg, N.C.
  • 1988: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1987: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1986: Virginia Beach, Va.
  • 1985: Norfolk, Va.
  • 1984: Long Beach, Calif.
  • 1983: Orlando, Fla.
  • 1982: Orlando, Fla.
  • 1981: Orlando, Fla.
 U-19 Girls    U-16 Girls
 A: South Jersey Edge    H: New Heights Black
 B: Windy City Fire    I: Gateway Red
 C: Jersey Intensity Black    J: New Jersey Starz
 D: Gateway Red    K: Shore Byrds
 E: Freedom HKY    L: Texas Pride
 F: X-Calibur FHC    M: AGH-1
     N: AIM Field Hockey
     O: Nook Hockey
 U-14 Girls 11v11    U-12 Co-Ed
 P: AGH    V: Key Biscayne Blue
 Q: X-Calibur    W: Windy City Blast
 U-14 Girls 7v7    Women's
 R: Stealth Comets    Red Rose Field Hockey
 S: Key Biscayne White    
 T: Mayhem    

2018 Festival Winners
2017 Festival Winners
2016 Festival Winners
2015 Festival Winners
2014 Festival Winners