Position Vice skip
Teammates Em Good, Jennifer Westhagen, Hannah Volkman
Delivers  
Born Aug. 13, 1978, in Guelph, Ontario
Hometown Seattle
Occupation Environmental scientist with Golder Associates, Inc.
Education
University of Guelph, University of Victoria
Family  
Year started curling 1988
CURLING HIGHLIGHTS
  • U.S. Club National Championships: 2012 (champion), 2011 (silver), 2010 (5th)
  • Washington Club Nationals Playdowns: 2012 (champion), 2011 (champion), 2010 (champion)
  • USWCA National Bonspiel: 2010 (second event runner-up)

Curls out of: Granite Curling Club (Seattle) 

I’ve just always curled.  My family curled; I curled in public school, high school, and in university; in many different towns, with many different age groups, and with many different people.  It seems to be the thing that helps me to get comfortable in a new town; I’m always guaranteed to make some new friends and have a place to hang out.  Competitively speaking, it wasn’t a priority for me until recently.  I enjoyed playing in bonspiels and tournaments, but the fun and camaraderie that I found has always been more important.  Currently, I’m enjoying the challenge associated with playing at a more competitive level.  Being Canadian, I cannot compete in a Nationals event for the US, but having the opportunity to shine at Club Nationals events is good enough for me.  It gives me more chances to meet more like-minded people. 

Junior Highlights: (Information on your Junior Career)
I played on elementary school and on high school teams.  I skipped my team in multiple inter-school tournaments. 

Who/What introduced you to Curling?
My dad.  He was the president of our local club for many years.  We always played as a family or I played with my junior teammates. 

Who was your favorite athlete growing up?
Wayne Gretzky 

What other sports do you play?
Ski, Hike, Bike, Snowshoe.

Do you have any pregame rituals or superstitions?
Listen to an upbeat song.  Have a beer.

What is your career highlight to date?
Runner up of the second event of the USWCA bonspiel in 2010 

What is one shot you would like to try one more time?
The ones that lost a game.

What is the best advice you’ve ever received?
Make sure everyone on your team has the same attitude towards winning and losing.  

What is your favorite sport other then curling?
Skiin 

What is one thing you’d like to do before you die?
Heli-skiing

What kind of Training Regimen do you follow?
One that exercises my right arm (social hour).  Have been following the Fit to Curl book. 

Any nicknames?
Jilly Bean.  Gilly.

Strengths:
Making the team laugh and loosen up during tense games.
So called “Jilly weight”.

Do others in your family curl?
My dad, mom, and brothers.

What do you enjoy most about curling?
Camaraderie, socialization.

What is your Education background?
Masters of Science