Position Skip
Delivers Right-handed
Born Jan. 5, 1979, in Schenectady, N.Y.
Hometown Schenectady, N.Y.
Occupation Physical therapist
Family Married
Year started curling 1986
Education Master's degree in physical therapy and bachelor's degree in health studies
  • U.S. Olympic Team Trials: 2009 (runner-up), 2005 (7th)
  • U.S. Junior Nationals: 1995, '96, '97 (competitor)
  • U.S. National Championships: 2011 (9th), 2009 (runner-up), 2008 (runner-up), 2007 (bronze), 2006 (runner-up), 2005 (7th), 2004 (5th), 2002, 2001, 1999
  • U.S. Mixed Doubles Championship: 2012, 2009
  • National Olympic Qualifier Event: 2001 (6th), 1997 (10th)
  • Curtis Cup Sportsmanship Award winner at the 1996 Junior Women's Nationals
  • Ann Brown Sportsmanship Award, Nationals: 2011

About Chrissy Fink Haase:

Club: Utica Curling Club

Early curling years: "I grew up around curling since my grandparents, uncle, father all curled. As long as I can remember I was always at the curling club watching curling. My dad started a little rocker program at our club when I was 7 years old. I didn't really like it at first, but once I went to my first playdowns for the junior nationals when I was 12, I was hooked. I have played down for a national competition every year since then except for my freshman year in college (only time my parents could keep me from curling)."

What do you enjoy most about curling? "There is so much I love about curling it is hard to describe in just a few words. I love the camaraderie among curlers. I have met so many wonderful people curling. I like the small team atmosphere. My teammates from my ladies national team are some of my best friends, and I love playing with them. I love the feeling of making that perfect shot, especially when it is a team shot. I also really like to sweep. Most of all, I love to compete. Nothing compares to playing in competition, practicing is OK, but competing is the best. There is just this thing about curling, you just can't get enough of it."

Curling goals: "My personal goal is to be the best vice skip that I possibly can and prepare and train properly to bring 100% to my team at all times. Our team goal is to qualify for the Olympic and World competition and bring home a medal for the U.S. -- preferably a gold one."

Training regimen: "Over the summer months our team has meetings to establish a practice and bonspiel schedule for the upcoming season. We try to alternate bonspiel weekends with practice weekends. At that time in the summer we also set our goals for the season. I practice on my own at least five times per week throwing stones. I also workout at the gym mixing cardio, weight-training and yoga classes."

Curling strength: "My strength lies in my personality. I have a fairly calm demeanor, and I think this helps me stay relaxed out on the ice. While my teammates say that I am the most impatient person off the ice, on the ice I am completely different. I have a very positive attitude. Whether we are winning or losing, my attitude stays the same. My favorite position is playing vice skip because I get to sweep, throw and be in the house, and I think that I play this position well."

Hobbies: "Since curling takes up most of my winter time, I enjoy summer at my family's camp, hiking, swimming, water skiing and just being outdoors. As I said before, I enjoy working out and staying fit for myself and to benefit my curling abilities."

Career goals: "I have been working at Sunnyview Rehabilitation Hospital in upstate New York as a physical therapist for almost two years now. I mainly work with patients with neurological injuries such as brain injuries, strokes, multiple sclerosis, and spinal cord injuries. It is a very rewarding job working very closely with my patients and their families. On the other side it can be difficult and draining, but overall I love my job and couldn't see myself doing anything else at this point."