Event:   Canoe Sprint, C1

Birthdate:  8/28/1996

Height:   5’10”
  160 lbs.

Birthdate: August 28, 1996

Hometown:  Gig Harbor, Wash.

Birthplace: Burnsville, Minn.
Club:  Gig Harbor Canoe & Kayak Racing Team        
High School:   Harbor Christian School


  • 2014 Pan American Championships: Bronze in C1 200m
  • 2014 ICF Junior World Championships: 13th in Jr. C1 1000m
  • 2014 Lake Placid International: 2nd in U18 C1 1000m
  • 2013 Lake Placid International: 2nd in Jr. C1 1000m
  • 2013 U.S. Sprint Team Trials: 1st in 1000m Junior C1, 2nd in 200m Junior C1

At what age did you start paddling and how did you become involved in the sport?  

I started paddling when I was 10 years old.  Erik North, a good friend, MADE me come down to the dock to “try it out” summer camp.  Turns out I liked it.

Where and when was your first competition, and how did you do?
Bantam Champs, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada in 2006.  I started out in a kayak, and I fell in a lot.

What has inspired you to train and compete at an International level?

I was never inspired by only one event or person.  There have been many times and people who have inspired me and helped me get where I am.  I still have a ways to go!

What is your preference - individual or team boats, and why?

I like team boats a lot…but I also like singles, so that’s a hard question.  It is good to push yourself to see what you can do in the singles.  But I think that if I had to choose I would pick C-2 because it is only me and one other person.  We push each other, and have a good time.

What race distance do you prefer, and why?

200m.  I can just go for it, without pacing myself.

What has been your biggest accomplishment(s) in the sport?

2011 Junior World Championship!  I was very young to go, but it helped me see who my competition really was.  It was a great experience. 

The other race I had the most fun and did my best was the 2012 Canada Day Regatta in Ottawa. 

What is the best advice you have been given and who offered it to you?

Lots of people have given me wise words and great advice, but I like hearing Coach Alan yell “FINISH!” at every race. 

What do you do for fun and relaxation?

I mountain bike and dirt bike in my free time.  And eat. 

What would you like to do after your Canoe/Kayak career is over?

I would like to do something along the lines of engineering.

What is your favorite thing about the sport of Canoe/Kayak?  Do you have any special memory that you would like to share?

If I had not started paddling I would not have met all the great friends that I now know.  I have met people from all over the world.  I have so many great memories, but one of my favorite ones was right after I won my first nationals as a bantam in 2010.  My coach, Jon Sousley, came up to me as I was getting to the dock and tackled me into the dirty Oklahoma River water.  

What is your dream goal?

I would love to go to the Olympics.