Name: Zach Garrett
Sport: Archery 
Discipline: Recurve
Height: 5'10" 
Current Residence: Chula Vista, Calif.
School: Wellington-Napoleon High School, Wellington, MO

Career Highlights:

  • 2015 World Archery Youth Championships, team silver medal
  • 2015 AAE Arizona Cup, gold medal (qualifications); bronze medal (overall) 
  • Texas Shootout, gold medal
  • 2014 U.S. National Target Championships, bronze medal
  • 2014 U.S. Open, silver medal

Get to Know Zach: 

- How did you get your start in archery? The first time I picked up a bow was when my grandpa made a simple stick bow for me. I was four or five. I have been hooked ever since. I started competing with 4H when I was eight. I got my first taste of Olympic recurve when I was 14. This was through 4H as well. 

- Who inspired you to start shooting? My grandpa. 

- How did you come to be in the RA program? My personal coach, Steve Cornell, encouraged me to apply to the RA program when I graduated from high school. 

- What are your favorite things to do other than archery? Mess around with archery equipment- I'm always trying to come up with something that will make the judges say, "I've never seen this before... Is it legal?" Competing, at anything. Spending time talking with my friends. Listening to, and sometimes attempting to play, music. (I'm mediocre at the guitar and ukulele). 

- Who are your favorite people in your life? Why? My sister - She is my biggest fan and she always has been, regardless of what I was doing. My girlfriend, Melissa - She altruistically supports me in all aspects of my sport and my life. My friend group - We have logged a lot of hours staying up all night solving the world's problems. My family - For sacrificing time, money, and sleep to make sure I have always had the best opportunity to succeed in all things.  

- What is your favorite kind of food to eat? Fruit, red meat

- Who do you consider your biggest influence in your life? I don't think I can pick just one person. I've had a lot of people give me a lot of really good advice. There have been a lot of people in my life who have really treated me like family, even when I wasn't. 

- What sacrifices have you made - or has your family made - so that you could shoot at this level? When I was 14, I had been saving to buy a car for a good six years already. I spent all that money on my first bow. It was a red fusion Hoyt RX, the same bow I shot at nationals last year. 

- What is the best place you've traveled for archery? Turkey was the best place I've travelled for shooting so far. Good food, rich history, a beach, nice weather.... What more could I want?