NWCA names Lee Miracle of Campbellsville as NAIA Women's Coach of the Year

By Nate Naasz, NWCA | April 03, 2020, 10:10 a.m. (ET)
Manheim, PA – On Thursday, the National Wrestling Coaches Association announced the NAIA Women’s National Coach of the Year Award winner. This award was scheduled to be presented on the eve of the NAIA Women’s Wrestling Championships at the University of Jamestown. Unfortunately, the championships were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Presented annually, this honor goes to a coach who has demonstrated outstanding effort in developing and elevating their program on campus and in the community. The coach of the year awards program is presented by Defense Soap, the official Hygiene partner of the NWCA.

The recipient of this year’s NAIA Women’s National Coach of the Year is Lee Miracle of Campbellsville University. Coach Miracle is in his seventh year as head coach and his squad took home a Runners-up trophy from the NWCA National Dual Championships while capturing their second WCWA National Championship.

“The NWCA is proud to honor Coach Miracle, and for the amazing job he has done at Campbellsville. He has built the CU tiger program into a national powerhouse”
-- Mike Moyer, NWCA Executive Director

Cascade Collegiate Conference: Joey Bareng, Menlo College (Bio)
Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference: Shauna Kemp, University of Jamestown (Bio)
Mid-South Conference: Lee Miracle, Campbellsville University (Bio)
Sooner Athletic Conference: Kevin Corbett, Lyon College (Bio)

The NWCA will recognize the 2020 national winners during the NWCA National Convention awards luncheon. This year’s convention, presented by Cliff Keen, Defense Soap, and Resilite will be hosted on July 31 – August 2 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino located in Hollywood, FL.

NCAA Division I: [TBA]
NCAA Division II: Steve Costanzo, St. Cloud State University
NCAA Division III: TJ Miller, Loras College
NCAA Women: Sam Schmitz, McKendree University
NAIA Men: Jeff Bedard, Reinhard University
NAIA Women: Lee Miracle, Campbellsville University
NJCAA Scholarship: Josh Watts, Iowa Western Community College 
NJCAA Non-Scholarship: Randy Rager, Rochester Community & Technical College

The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a non-profit organization for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on developing coaches who work in academic environments. The three core competencies of the NWCA are: Coaching Development, Student-Athlete Welfare, and the Promotion of Wrestling.