USWF and USA Wrestling give out LTDMF Big Checks and honor award winners at After Party at NCAAs

By Mike Willis, USA Wrestling | March 22, 2019, 10:31 a.m. (ET)
World silver medalists Kyle Snyder and Sarah Hildebrandt receive their Living the Dream Medal Fund checks from National Freestyle Coach Bill Zadick, LTDMF Steward Jack Moses, Women's Team Leader Jim Bennett, 3x World champion Lee Kemp, Olympic champion Steve Fraser and USWF moderator Dan Russell. Photo by Sara Levin/USWF.

The United States Wrestling Foundation, along with USA Wrestling. held their annual NCAA “After Party” on Thursday night after the second round of the NCAA Division I Championship.

Speakers included Men’s Freestyle head coach Bill Zadick, Olympic and World Champion Kyle Snyder, 2018 World silver medalist Sarah Hildebrandt, and Women’s Freestyle Team Leader Jim Bennett.

Snyder and Hildebrandt received their Living the Dream Medal Fund (LDMF) checks for their silver medal performances this past October at the World Championships in Budapest, Hungary. Based upon their silver-medal winning performance, each received a big check for $25,000.

Hildebrandt earned the honor of being named USA Wrestling’s Women’s Freestyle Athlete of Year. It was the first time in her career that Hildebrandt has won this honor. In addition to her World silver medal, Hildebrandt also won Final X, the U.S. Open, the Pan American Championships, the Grand Prix of Spain and Outstanding Ukrainian Memorial.

Also in attendance were three-time World Champion Lee Kemp, USA Wrestling Chief of Donor and Alumni Relations and 1984 Greco-Roman Olympic Champion Steve Fraser, four-time Division II National Champions Dan Russell and Joey Davis and LDMF Steward Jack Moses.

Earlier in the day the USWF and USA Wrestling presented big checks to 2018 World bronze medalists Jordan Burroughs and Nick Gwiazdowski at the NCAA Fan Festival, with many fans there to applaud their achievements. Burroughs and Gwiazdowski received $15,000 for their bronze-medal efforts.

Since its inception in 2009; the Living the Dream Medal Fund has paid out $2,455,000 to medal-winning American wrestlers.

On Wednesday night, at the inaugural Kickoff Party hosted by Jordan and Lauren Burroughs, USA Wrestling also presented awards to these winners:
Freestyle Athlete of the Year – David Taylor
Greco-Roman Athlete of the Year – Adam Coon
Women’s Coach of the Year – Troy Steiner
Greco-Roman Coach of the Year – Spenser Mango
Ed Aliverti Golden Microphone Award winner – Dorothy Mayabb
USA Wrestling Inspiration Award – Richard Perry