USA Wrestling #GrecoMonday: North ...

#GrecoMonday: North Texas wins third straight NCWA GoGreco Nationals title, Willi becomes first wrestler to win three titles

By Mike Willis, USA Wrestling | June 17, 2019, 5:13 p.m. (ET)

Eight NCWA GoGreco National Champions were crowned last weekend. 

Last weekend, the University of North Texas claimed their third straight National Collegiate Wrestling Association (NCWA) GoGreco National Championships title. The Mean Green were led by Head Coach, three-time world medalist and two-time NCAA Champion, Andre Metzger. North Texas brought home individual titles at 68 kg, 85 kg, and 130 kg. 68 kg champion, Scott Akers won his second title in a row.

Richland College finished in second, and Wayne State College finished in third.

Also of note, Andrew Willi of Texas State became the first three-time champion. He has won this tournament every year since its inception in 2017.

Final Results
1. University of North Texas 83
2. Richland College 42
3. Wayne State College 19
4. Winona State University 18
5. Austin Community College 18
6. Texas State University 17
7. Schreiner University 15
8. Lone Star Community College 12
9. Southern Virginia University 11
10. Montana Tech University 10

59 kg
1. Andrew Willi (Texas State)
2. Demetri Koures (Montana Tech)
3. Foster Griffin (UNT) (North Texas)

Andrew Willi TF Demetri Koures (14-4)
Andrew Willi DEF Foster Griffin (INJ DEF)

Demetri Koures FALL Foster Griffin (:39)

68 kg
1. Scott Akers (North Texas)
2. Chris Guzman (Richland College)

Match 1: Akers FALL Guzman (:33)
Match 2: Akers FALL Guzman (:37)

71 kg
1. Eric Goodman (Winona State University)
2. John Teed (Lone Starr CC)
3. Tyrek Brown (North Texas)
4. Bobby Guerrero (North Texas)

Eric Goodman FALL Tyrek Brown (:37)
Eric Goodman DEF Bobby Guerrero (INJ DEF)
Eric Goodman TF John Teed (8-0)

John Teed TF Tyrek Brown (19-8)
John Teed TF Bobby Guerrero (10-2)

Tyrek Brown DEF Bobby Guerrero (INJ DEF)

75 kg
1. Hunter Weiss (Wayne State College)
2. Izaiah Salazar (Richland College)
3. Austin Kolada (North Texas)
4. Matt Thompson (Richland College)

Hunter Weiss FALL Izaiah Salazar (2:53)
Hunter Weiss Weiss FALL Max Thompson (4:02)

Izaiah Salazar FALL Max Thompson (:26)
Izaiah Salazar TF Alex Kolada (10-0)

Austin Kolada TF Hunter Weiss (11-10)
Austin Kolada TF Max Thompson (13-5)

80 kg
1. Dustin Basham (Schreiner University)
2. Hunter Townsend (North Texas)
3. Ryan Thompson (Richland College)

Dustin Basham TF Ryan Thompson (8-0)
Dustin Basham TF Hunter Townsend (17-4)

Hunter Townsend Fall Ryan Thompson (:35)

85 kg
1. Luis Garcia (North Texas)
2. Matthew Rohrdanz (Southern Virginia)

Match 1: Rohrdanz TF Garcia (10-2)
Match 2: Garcia dec Rhordanz (14-13)
Match 3: Garcia dec Rhordanz (6-2)

98 kg
1. Matthew Dean (Austin CC)
2. Jonathan Carranza (Richland College)
3. Ryan Melanson (North Texas)
4. Taro Johnson III (North Texas)

Matthew Dean FALL Taro Johnson III (:09)
Matthew Dean TF Ryan Melanson (12-2)
Matthew Dean FALL Jonathan Carranza (:31)

Jonathan Carranza dec Ryan Melanson (11-6)
Jonathan Carranza TF Tarao Johnson III (11-1)

Ryan Melanson TF Taro Johnson III (14-4)

130 kg
1. Christian McLellan (North Texas)