Junior Greco-Roman Finals set: Four wrestlers look to become repeat Greco-Roman champions, five freestyle champions look to double up

By Mike Willis, USA Wrestling | July 19, 2019, 12:30 p.m. (ET)

Anthony Molton will attempt to win double titles at 120 pounds. He will face returning Greco-Roman champion Chayse LaJoie. Photo by John Sachs.

FARGO, N.D. - The 2019 Junior Greco-Roman finals are set at the 2019 USMC Nationals after a morning of semifinal action. This will be the last session of the tournament. Four wrestlers have the opportunity to repeat as Junior Greco-Roman champion. While five wrestlers will attempt to win Freestyle and Greco-Roman titles. Two matches feature a wrestler trying to repeat as a champion vs. a wrestler trying to double up.

100 pounds will feature a rematch of the Junior men’s freestyle finals with Daniel Sheen of Illinois taking on Brandon O’Brien of Iowa. Sheen defeated O’Brien 2-1.

At 106 pounds, California’s Andre Gonzales will attempt to double-up on titles. He will face Ryan Rowland of Florida. Rowland has teched everyone he’s wrestled without allowing a point scored against him.

Sheldon Seymour of Pennsylvania won a Cadet Greco-Roman title last year and will look to add a Junior title this year at 113 pounds. He will face Billy Sullivan of Nevada

120 pounds should be an excellent match as 2018 Junior Greco-Roman champion Chayse LaJoie will look to win back-to-back titles. He pinned Junior freestyle runner up and 2018 Greco-Roman Cadet Greco-Roman World Team member Jaskason Burks to advance to the finals. Standing in his way is Illinois’ Anthony Molton, who is looking to double up after winning the Junior freestyle bracket.

2018 Cadet Greco-Roman champion, Haiden Drury of Washington will look to earn his first Junior title. In the 132 pound finals he will square off with Moesha Schwartz of Colorado, a 2019 Folkstyle Nationals champion.

Ten-time Fargo All-American Ridge Lovett will look to repeat as a Greco-Roman champion. On the other side of the 138 pound bracket, Cade Lucio of California defeated Junior freestyle champion Josh Saunders, 7-3, to earn a spot in the finals.

Anthony Echemendia is another wrestler looking to win double titles this year. Echemendia has been dominant this tournament, scoring 3 technical falls and two pins without surrendering a point. He has Ed Scott of Pennsylvania in the 145 pound finals.

At 152 pounds Cael Carlson of Minnesota looks to win back-to-back Junior Greco-Roman titles. He has earned five technical falls and a pin in route to the finals. 2018 Cadet World Team member James Burks of Nebraska will challenge Carlson in the finals.

After a runner-up finish in Junior freestyle, Cade DeVos of Iowa will be looking for redemption in the 160 pound Greco-Roman finals. Ryan Cody of Florida, who knocked off the Outstanding Wrestler of the freestyle tournament Jace Luchau, will be his opponent.

2018 Junior runner-up Chris Foca of New Jersey will be gunning for a title at 182 pounds. He’ll take on Jacob Anderson of Alaska.

At 195 pounds Vincent Baker of Georgia defeated freestyle champion Jonovan Smith, 11-0. Baker has earned four technical falls in the tournament without surrendering a point. Artem Loginov of California will be his finals opponent.

220 pounds should also be an excellent final. Returning Junior Greco-Roman champion Jace Punke earned five 10-0 technical falls in five matches. He’ll have his hands full with freestyle champion Braxton Amos. Until his semifinal match, which he won 8-1, Amos hadn’t surrendered a point in either style.

Luke Luffman will attempt to double up at 285 pounds. He was a runner-up in Greco-Roman last year. In the finals he will face Spencer Trenary of Iowa.

The other two matches taking place are Cael Swenson of Minnesota vs. Camden Russel of Nebraska at 126 pounds, and Lance Runyon of Iowa vs. Angel Garcia of Pennsylvania at 170 pounds.

Illinois currently leads the team race and has four wrestlers in the finals. Iowa is in second place, also with four wrestlers in the finals. California is right behind Iowa and has three wrestlers in the finals. Pennsylvania is in fourth and also has three wrestlers in the finals. Nebraska is in fifth place and has two wrestlers in the finals.

The finals will take place at 2 p.m. CST and can be streamed on Flowrestling

Finals Pairings

100 - Daniel Sheen (Illinois) vs. Brandon O’Brien (Iowa)

106 -Ryan Rowland (Florida) vs. Andre Gonzalez (California)

113 - Sheldon Seymour (Pennsylvania) vs. Billy Sullivan (Nevada)

120 - Chayse LaJoie (Michigan) vs. Anthony Molton (Illinois)

126 - Cael Swenson (Minnesota) vs. Camden Russel (Nebraska)

132- Haiden Drury (Washington) vs. Mosha Schwartz (Colorado)

138 - Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) vs. Cade Lucio (California)

145- Anthony Echemendia (Arizona) vs. Edward Scott (Pennsylvania)

152 - Cael Carlson (Minnesota) vs. James Burks (Nebraska)

160 -Cade DeVos (Iowa) vs. Ryan Cody (Florida)

170 -Lance Runyon (Iowa) vs. Angel Garcia (Pennsylvania)

182 - Chris Foca (New Jersey) vs. Jacob Anderson (Alaska)

195 - Artem Loginov (California) vs. Vincent Baker (Georgia)

220 - Braxton Amos (West Virginia) vs. Jace Punke (Illinois)

285 – Luke Luffman (Illinois) vs. Spencer Trenary (Iowa)

Semifinal Results


Daniel Sheen (Illinois) DEC Christan Forbes (Oklahoma), 12-8

Brandon O'brien (Iowa) DEC Kaleb Casey (Wisconsin), 14-7


Ryan Rowland (Florida) TF Chad Bellis (Illinois), 11-0 3:00

Andre Gonzales (California) DEC Quade Smith (Utah), 8-3


Sheldon Seymour (Pennsylvania) TF Nathan Rubino (Nebraska), 15-4 3:36

Billy Sullivan (Nevada) TF Christian Decatur-luker (North Carolina), 10-0 3:31


Chayse La joie (Michigan) FALL Jakason Burks (Nebraska), 12-4 3:53

Anthony Molton (Illinois) TF Cooper Flynn (Tennessee), 11-1 2:45


Cael Swensen (Minnesota) FALL TJ Long (Oklahoma), 4-0 1:36

Camden Russell (Nebraska) DEC Brody Norman (Illinois), 5-3


Haiden Drury (Washington) DEC Kellyn March (South Dakota), 12-10

Mosha Schwartz (Colorado) DEC Tarrell Wallace jr (Florida), 12-8


Ridge Lovett (Idaho) TF Antonio Segura (Colorado), 14-4 5:18

Cade Lucio (California) DEC Joshua Saunders (Missouri), 7-3


Anthony Echemendia (Arizona) FALL Luke Odom (Illinois), 4-0 1:53

Edward Scott (Pennsylvania) FALL Chance Mclane (Montana), 5-4 1:50


Cael Carlson (Minnesota) FALL Kaden Reetz (Wisconsin), 4-0 1:22

James Burks (Nebraska) FALL Aaron Gandara (Arizona), 11-4 3:24


Cade Devos (Iowa) DEC Weston Milnes (Colorado), 11-2

Ryan Cody (Florida) TF Adrian St.germain (Washington), 11-0 2:20


Lance Runyon (Iowa) FALL Dajun Johnson (Wisconsin), 7-1 4:37

Angel Garcia (Pennsylvania) DEC Nevan Snodgrass (Ohio), 9-7


Christopher Foca (New Jersey) DEC Josh Labarbera (Illinois), 8-0

Jacob Anderson (Alaska) DEC Jackson White (Missouri), 13-


Artem Loginov (California) DEC Matthew Kaylor (North Dakota), 11-6

Vincent Baker (Georgia) TF Jonovan Smith (California), 11-0 4:50


Jace Punke (Illinois) TF Cody Fisher (Iowa), 10-0 1:29

Braxton Amos (West Virginia) DEC Cade Lautt (Kansas), 8-1


Luke Luffman (Illinois) DEC Nash Hutmacher (South Dakota), 5-3

Spencer Trenary (Iowa) DEC Donovan King (Michigan), 8-8