Brooks dominates, Molinaro wins second Dave Schultz Memorial International title

By Taylor Miller, USA Wrestling | Jan. 26, 2019, 6:15 p.m. (ET)

Photo: Aaron Brooks wrestles Nate Jackson in the 79 kg gold match. Photo by Robbert Wijtman.

DSMI champion interviews

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. Action concluded at the Dave Schultz Memorial International with seven men’s freestylers earning titles on Sunday at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Aaron Brooks, a Penn State commit and Elite Accelerator Program (EAP) athlete at the OTC, claimed gold at 79 kg for his first international Senior-level medal.

A 2017 Cadet World champion and 2018 Junior World silver medalist, Brooks defeated 2018 U.S. Open All-American Nathan Jackson in the gold-medal bout with a 13-0 shutout, ending the match early in the second period with a big four-pointer.

At 18 years old, Brooks was the youngest to win a freestyle Schultz championship this weekend.

“Training out here, we wrestle Senior guys all the time,” Brooks said. “At Senior camps, I’m grabbing guys like (Jordan) Burroughs, David Taylor, J’den Cox and Kyle Dake. It’s just another wrestling match, no matter how old you are. I know I can compete with these guys because I do it all the time in the room. I just have to stay calm and keep thinking about my tactics.”

2016 Olympian and new member of the Oklahoma RTC Frank Molinaro took the title at 70 kg over four-time All-American Brandon Sorensen with a takedown late in the first period to hold on for a 3-1 decision.

The win marks Molinaro’s second DSMI title with his first coming in 2014 at 65 kg.

A pair of 2017 U23 World medalists picked up gold medals on Sunday, including Richie Lewis and Ty Walz.

Lewis, a 2017 U23 World champion, opened scoring with a four-point takedown against Dan Vallimont at 74 kg. Lewis scored two more takedowns and a gut for a quick 10-0 tech fall and the gold.

U23 World bronze medalist Walz took out last year’s DSMI silver medalist Blaize Cabell for the title at 97 kg. Walz picked up three takedowns en route to an 11-0 victory.

2012 Junior World silver medalist Pat Downey won the crown at 86 kg, defeating Kenny Courts with a dominant 12-2 showing. The win marks Downey’s second-consecutive medal at the event. Last year, he finished with bronze at 86 kg.

Also winning gold with a tech fall was 2017 Maccabiah Games champion in freestyle and Greco-Roman Mike Kosoy, who shut out Finland’s Jere Heino in a 10-0 win in the 125 kg final.

Timothy Dudley came out on top in a back-and-forth battle against Scottie Boykin at 92 kg, winning the weight with an 8-6 decision.

BJ Futrell was named the tournament’s outstanding wrestler after a dominant run to the 65 kg title on Friday.

At Colorado Springs, Colo., January 26

Final results
57 kg
1st - Anatolii Buruian (Moldova) tech. fall Steven Takahashi (Canada), 14-4, 5:04
3rd – Darian Cruz (NYAC) dec. Darthe Capellan (Canada), 2-1

61 kg
1st - Cody Brewer (Titan Mercury WC/Chicago RTC) tech. fall Samat Nadyrbek Uulu (Kyrgyzstan), 10-0, 2:29
3rd – Ben Whitford (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Shelton Mack (Titan Mercury WC), 13-0, 3:31

65 kg
1st - Bernard Futrell (TMWC) tech. fall Evan Henderson (NYCRTC), 10-0, 1:36
3rd – Bryce Meredith (GRIT Athletic WC) dec. Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado WC), 7-2

70 kg 
1st - Frank Molinaro (TMWC) dec. Brandon Sorensen (TMWC), 3-1
3rd – Dave Habat (Slovenia-NYAC) dec. Sammy Sasso (unattached-Ohio State), 5-3

74 kg 
1st - Richie Lewis (NYAC) tech. fall Dan Vallimont (NYAC), 10-0
3rd – Joey Lavallee (TMWC) fall over Lavion Mayes (NYCRTC), 5:09

79 kg 
1st - Aaron Brooks (TMWC/ EAP) tech. fall Nathan Jackson (NYAC), 13-0
3rd - C.J. Brucki (NJRTC) tech. fall DJ Shannon (EAP), 12-2

86 kg 
1st - Pat Downey (TMWC) tech. fall Kenneth Courts (TMWC), 12-2
3rd – Brett Pfarr (Minnesota Storm) dec. Joe Rau (TMWC), 20-7

92 kg
1st - Timothy Dudley (Sunkist Kids) dec. Scottie Boykin (TMWC), 8-6
3rd – Lucas Davison (Northwestern) dec. Joshua Manu (Navy-Marine Corps RTC), 8-8

97 kg
1st - Ty Walz (TMWC) tech. fall Blaize Cabell (TMWC), 11-0
3rd – Kevin Beazley (NYAC) dec. Evan Ramos (Puerto Rico), 7-7

125 kg
1st - Michael Kosoy (Sunkist Kids) tech. fall Jere Heino (Finland), 10-0 
3rd – Dom Bradley (Sunkist Kids) dec. Tanner Hall (Arizona State), 4-1

Men’s freestyle EAP performances
57 kg - Julian Tagg, Maple Heights, Ohio (EAP) 
LOSS Steven Takahashi (Canada), tech. fall 10-0, 3:56
WIN Nodirjon Safarov (Uzbekistan), inj. dft, 0:00
WIN Alex Moher (Canada), 8-1
LOSS Darian Cruz (NYAC), 4-1

61 kg – Gabriel Tagg, Maple Heights, Ohio (EAP)
LOSS Cody Brewer (Titan Mercury WC), tech. fall 11-1, 2:10
WIN Job Greenwood (EAP), 17-15
LOSS Shelton Mack (Titan Mercury WC), 12-5

61 kg – Job Greenwood. Livermore, Colo. (EAP)
LOSS Ali Naser (Sunkist Kids), 4-3 
LOSS Gabriel Tagg (EAP), 17-15 

79 kg/174 lbs. – Aaron Brooks, Hagerstown, Md. (Titan Mercury WC./EAP) – GOLD
WIN Stacey Davis (Wolfpack WC), pin 1:10
WIN Nathan Jackson (NYAC), 13-0

79 kg/174 lbs. – DJ Shannon, East St. Louis, Mo. (EAP) – FOURTH
LOSS Nate Jackson (NYAC), tech. fall 10-0
WIN Stacey Davis (Wolfpack WC), 5-3
LOSS C.J. Brucki (NJRTC), 12-2