USA Wrestling USA Wrestling extend...

USA Wrestling extends record with 12 Senior World medals in one year as Coon reaches finals in Budapest

By Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling | Oct. 27, 2018, 12:55 p.m. (ET)

Adam Coon of the USA pins Minseok Kim of Korea in the World Championships semifinals at 130 kg. Photo by Larry Slater.

On Thursday night, when two U.S. women won medals at the World Championships in Budapest, Hungary, USA Wrestling set a new record with 11 Senior World medals in a single year.

On Saturday night, as U.S. Greco-Roman heavyweight Adam Coon pinned his way through his half-bracket and qualified for the World gold-medal match at 130 kg, the record has now been extended to 12 Senior World medals.

The previous record was 10 medals, which was shared with the U.S. World Teams in 1997, 1989 and 1991.

Coon has now won a World medal at three different age levels. As a Cadet, he was a World freestyle champion. As a Junior, he won World bronze medals in both Greco-Roman and freestyle. Now, in his first year at the Senior World Championships, Coon has guaranteed himself at least a World silver medal.

The record was extended when Coon pinned Minseok Kim of Korea in 2:31 in the semifinals. It was his fourth straight pin of the tournament, an amazing achievement.

So far this year, USA Wrestling has four World gold medals, from Adeline Gray in women’s wrestling at 76 kg (her fourth career World title), plus three World gold medals in men’s freestyle by Kyle Dake at 79 kg, David Taylor at 86 kg and J’den Cox at 92 kg.

Silver medals have gone to Kyle Snyder in men’s freestyle at 97 kg and Sarah Hildebrandt at 53 kg in women’s freestyle.

Bronze medals belong to women freestylers Tamyra Mensah-Stock at 68 kg and Mallory Velte at 62 kg, plus men freestylers Joe Colon at 61 kg, Jordan Burroughs at 74 kg and Nick Gwiazdowski at 125 kg.

With Coon’s amazing performance today, U.S. athletes from all three Olympic disciplines have contributed to the new record.

Most World medals by USA Wrestling in one year

2018 – 12 medals
Freestyle - Joe Colon (bronze, 61 kg), Jordan Burroughs (bronze, 74 kg), Kyle Dake (gold, 79 kg), David Taylor (gold, 86 kg), J’den Cox (gold, 92 kg), Kyle Snyder (silver, 97 kg), Nick Gwiazdowski (bronze, 125 kg)
Greco-Roman – Adam Coon (gold or silver, 130 kg)
Women – Adeline Gray (gold, 76 kg), Sarah Hildebrandt (silver, 53 kg), Tamyra Mensah-Stock (bronze, 68 kg), Mallory Velte (bronze, 62 kg)

1991- 10 medals

Freestyle – Zeke Jones (gold, 52 kg), Brad Penrith (silver, 57 kg), John Smith (gold, 62 kg), Kenny Monday (silver, 74 kg), Kevin Jackson (gold, 82 kg), Mark Coleman (silver, 100 kg)
Greco-Roman – Shawn Sheldon (silver, 52 kg), Matt Ghaffari (silver, 130 kg)
Women – Marie Prado (silver, 44 kg), Shannon Williams (silver, 50 kg),

1989 – 10 medals
Freestyle – John Smith (gold, 62 kg), Kenny Monday (gold, 74 kg), Melvin Douglas (silver, 82 kg), Jim Scherr (silver, 90 kg), Bill Scherr (silver, 100 kg), Bruce Baumgartner (silver, 130 kg)
Greco-Roman – Michial Foy (silver, 90 kg)
Women – Afsoon Roshanzamir (bronze, 47 kg), Asia DeWeese (silver, 50 kg), Leia Kawaii (silver, 70 kg)

1979 – 10 medals
Freestyle - Bobby Weaver (silver, 48 kg), Jimmy Haines (silver, 52 kg), Joe Corso (bronze, 57 kg), Andre Metzger (bronze, 62 kg), Lee Kemp (gold,74 kg), John Peterson (silver, 82 kg), Russ Hellickson (silver, 100 kg)
Greco-Roman – Abdurahim Kuzu (silver, 62 kg), Brad Rheingans (bronze, 100 kg), Bob Walker (bronze, UNL)