Rosters set for AWL I, as Team Dake and Team Taylor has been picked

By Andy Hamilton, TrackWrestling | Nov. 04, 2018, 5:11 p.m. (ET)
The draft was done on Saturday night and the rosters are set for the inaugural American Wrestling League event.

All that’s left now is four weeks of speculation about the matchups before the mat is rolled out at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, site of AWL I: The Beginning.

World champions Kyle Dake and David Taylor selected their squads for the November 30 freestyle dual during a 20-round draft Saturday in Iowa City.

Dake picked two-time World medalist James Green with the No. 1 selection before Taylor opted for Alex Dieringer and Kyven Gadson with the second and third picks in the snake draft format.

Dake also snagged Jordan Oliver and Isaiah Martinez, two of his training partners leading up to the World Championships. Taylor's team has strong Penn State and Iowa ties. He picked up Penn State alums Nico Megaludis, Zain Retherford and Dan Vallimont, along with former Iowa stars Cory Clark, Brandon Sorensen and Sam Brooks, plus Iowa natives Kyven Gadson and Blaize Cabell.

The draft set the stage for the possibility of some intriguing matchups, including a rematch between Oliver and Retherford at 65 kilograms and a battle between Tony Ramos and Clark, a pair of NCAA champions from Iowa.

The 10 starters on each side will pick up a $2,500 check for competing in the event and the winners will take home an additional $5,000.

The dual will be streamed live on Trackwrestling.

Team Dake
57 kg — Zach Sanders/Alan Waters
61 kg — Tony Ramos/ Nick Simmons
65 kg — Jordan Oliver/Josh Kindig
70 kg — James Green/Frank Molinaro
74 kg — Isaiah Martinez/Richie Lewis
79 kg — Nate Jackson/Josh Asper
86 kg — Nick Heflin/ Pat Downey
92 kg — Hayden Zillmer/Deron Winn
97 kg — Jacob Kasper/Ty Walz
125 kg — Dom Bradley/Ceron Francisco

Team Taylor
57 kg — Nico Megaludis/Frank Perrelli
61 kg — Cory Clark/Bryce Meredith
65 kg — Zain Retherford/Evan Henderson
70 kg — Brandon Sorensen/Anthony Collica
74 kg — Tommy Gantt/Joey Lavallee
79 kg — Alex Dieringer/Dan Vallimont
86 kg — Sam Brooks/Brett Pfarr
92 kg — Mike Macchiavello/Ben Provisor
97 kg — Kyven Gadson/Blaize Cabell
125 kg — Adam Coon/Robby Smith