USA Wrestling US Greco wins team t...

US Greco wins team title at Pan Am Championships with six medals

By Taylor Miller, USA Wrestling | May 04, 2018, 10:59 p.m. (ET)

LIMA – The U.S. Greco-Roman team wrapped up the 2018 Pan American Championships with a team title, defeating Cuba, 141-140. It’s Team USA’s third-straight team title at the event. In 2015, the Red, White and Blue snatched a Pan Am Games title.

Overall the team walked away with six medals, including two gold, three silver and one bronze over the two-day competition.

In Friday night’s session, Ben Provisor won bronze and Geordan Speiller came away with bronze.

At 87 kg, two-time Olympian Provisor defeated 2017 Pan Am bronze medalist Alfonso Leyva Yepez of Mexico, with a decisive 3-0 decision, for his second-straight continental medal.

In order to qualify the U.S. for next year’s Pan American Games, Provisor had to wrestle a true-third match against Carlos Albert Adames Palmer of the Dominican Republic. Just seconds into the bout, Adames tossed Provisor to his back for a fall.

Although he didn’t wrestle in the evening session, Geordan Speiller, a 2016 Pan Am champion, was awarded the silver medal after going 3-1 on the day in round-robin action. In his showing, Speiller had dominant wins over Carlos Espinoza Castro of Peru, Adil Barros Machado of Brazil and Brayden Ambo of Canada.

The Pan Am Championships continue tomorrow with women’s and men’s freestyle action, starting at 10 a.m. on Trackwrestling.

2018 Senior Pan American Championships
At Lima, Peru

Final team scores (top five)
1. USA – 141
Cuba – 140
3. Brazil – 106
4. Peru – 105
5. Venezuela - 98

Greco-Roman final results

77 kg
GOLD - Ariel FIS BATISTA (CUB) dec. Jair Alexis CUERO MUNOZ (COL), 9-5
BRONZE - Angelo Rafael M
ARQUES MOREIRA (BRA) win by fall over Francisco Albano BARRIO (ARG), 1:41
BRONZE - Reinier JIMENEZ TERRY (GUA) win by fall over Johan Antonio BATISTA (DOM), 3:33

82 kg

87 kg
Yorgen Jose COVA PULIDO (VEN), 7-0
BRONZE - Benjamin Errol PROVISOR (USA) df. Alfonso Antonio LEYVA YEPEZ (MEX), 3-0
BRONZE - Carlos Alberto ADAMES PALMER (DOM) df.
Phillip Raweriio BARREIRO (CAN), 9-0

U.S. Greco-Roman results

55 kg/121 lbs. – Max Nowry, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army WCAP) - SILVER
WIN Brandon Jesus Escobar Amador (Honduras), 6-1
WIN Mauricio David Plaza Sanchez (Mexico), 9-0
WIN Javier Eduardo Barrera Palacios (Peru), 8-0
LOSS Sargis Khachatryan (Brazil), 6-4

60 kg/132 lbs. – Mike Fuenffinger, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army WCAP)
LOSS Dichter Hans Toro Castaneda (Colombia), 8-6

63 kg/139 lbs. – Ryan Mango, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army WCAP) - GOLD
WIN Mauri Vicente Silverio Junior (Brazil), 8-0
WIN Gerardo Francisco Oliva Montes (Peru), 8-0
WIN German Manuel Diaz Maldonado (Puerto Rico), 14-4
WIN Adam MacFayden (Canada), medical forfeit

67 kg/147 lbs. - Ellis Coleman, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army WCAP)
WIN Jose Jelmar Sanchez Betancourt (Ecuador), 8-0
LOSS Joilson de Brito Ramos Junior (Brazil), 7-5

72 kg/158 lbs. – RaVaughn Perkins, Colorado Springs, Colo. (New York AC) - GOLD
WIN Fernando Vicente Gomez (Mexico), forfeit
WIN David Pereira Barbsa (Brazil), 9-0
WIN Christopher Palacios Alexander (Peru), 8-0
WIN Wuileixis de Jesus Rivas Espinoza (Venezuela), 4-0

77 kg/170 lbs. – Kamal Bey, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids)
LOSS Jair Cuero Munoz (Colombia), injury default

82 kg/181 lbs. – Geordan Speiller, Oviedo, Fla. (Florida Jets) - SILVER
WIN Carlos Espinoza Castro (Peru), fall 4:08
LOSS Luis Eduardo Avendano Rojas (Venezuela), 8-0
WIN Adil Barros Machado (Brazil), 8-0
WIN Brayden Ambo (Canada), 8-0

87 kg/192 lbs. – Ben Provisor, State College, Pa. (New York AC/Nittany Lion WC) - BRONZE
WIN Jose Moreno Bustos (Chile), 7-1
WIN Ricardo Cardenas (Peru), 6-1
LOSS Daniel Gregorich (Cuba), 9-0
WIN Alfonso Leyva Yepez (Mexico), 3-0
LOSS Carlos Albert Adames Palmer (Dominican Republic), fall

97 kg/213 lbs. – Daniel Miller, Jacksonville, N.C. (Marines)
LOSS Gabriel Rosillo Kindelan (Cuba), 8-0

130 kg/286 lbs. – Robby Smith, Colorado Springs, Colo. (New York AC) - SILVER
WIN Jose Noel Erazo Henriquez (El Salvador), 13-0

WIN Luis Alberto Roman Barrios (Mexico), fall 1:45