USA Wrestling Kyle Snyder named AA...

Kyle Snyder named AAU Sullivan Award finalist for second-straight year

By Kyle Kuhlman, Ohio State Athletics | March 24, 2018, 11:12 a.m. (ET)

ORLANDO, Fla. -Kyle Snyder is a finalist for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award, honoring the country's most outstanding amateur athlete, for the second straight year. Snyder is one of eight individuals still vying for the title of top amateur athlete, which will be put to vote this week.

The other 88th Sullivan Award finalists are: Maia and Alex Shibutani, Angela Peavy, Annika Albrecht, Kelly Hunter, Joel Berry II and Erin Finn.

Snyder is the only American to ever leave college with three national championships, an Olympic gold medal and two World titles. He was recognized as both U.S. Male Olympic Athlete of the Year and Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year in 2017.

He won what was dubbed the Match of the Century, defeating Olympic champion and two-time world champion Abdulrashid Sadulaev of Russia in the World Finals, giving Team USA its first world team title in 22 years.

“It is an honor to be one of the finalists for the 2018 AAU James E. Sullivan Award,” Snyder said. “I am thankful that I was able to experience this event last year and I am excited to be a member of this year’s finalist award class as well.”

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Past winners include decorated Olympians Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1986), Michael Phelps (2003) and Shawn Johnson (2008). Former UCLA basketball star Bill Walton (1973), University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning (1997) and Ezekiel Elliott (2014) have also earned the prestigious honor.

“We are proud to have athletes representing such a wide array of sports as finalists for this year’s AAU James E. Sullivan Award,” said Dr. Roger J. Goudy, President/CEO of the AAU. “The AAU is the largest multi-sport organization in the world, so we are thrilled to provide a venue for this elite class of athletes to compete for the title of top amateur athlete.”

Voting for the award is open to the public at Finalist voting is open now and will close on Thursday, March 29 at 11:59 p.m. The winner will be announced at the AAU James E. Sullivan Award Ceremony on April 17 at the New York Athletic Club in Manhattan. This year’s event will be hosted by 1981 AAU Sullivan Award winner Carl Lewis.

Related Athletes

head shot

Kyle Snyder

Freestyle Wrestling