Sun Devil Wrestling earns ninth-straight win in front of 1988 national championship team

By Arizona State Sports Info | Jan. 20, 2018, 9:34 p.m. (ET)
TEMPE, Ariz. – On the same day the 1988 Arizona State Wrestling National Champions were honored for the 30-year anniversary of their victory, the 2018 Sun Devils defeated Pac-12 foe Oregon State, 27-15, Saturday afternoon in Wells Fargo Arena.

"It's an exciting weekend to have not only a Pac-12 weekend of conference foes but, at the same time, the opportunity to recognize the greatest team in the history of the Arizona State program," said head coach Zeke Jones. "I think it's great for the past to see the future and for the future to see the past."

The victory over the Beavers constitutes the Sun Devils' ninth-straight win, a streak long enough to tie the 1989-90 Sun Devils for the third-longest win streak in program history. The 1977-78 team won 13 straight, and the 1975-76 team earned a perfect 15-0 record for the longest win streak in program history.

Starting the day at 174, the undefeated Zahid Valencia pinned Oregon State's Myles Terry in 1:37. Right after at 184, freshman Kordell Norfleet posted a major decision (16-5) over Collbran Meeker, his second major decision victory of his career.

The Beavers took the next two matches before No. 11 Ryan Millhof brought the excitement back to Wells Fargo Arena, earning a four-point nearfall in the final 15 seconds of the third period to take the victory, 9-4.

The Beavers continued to pull close, winning bouts at 133 and 141, until No. 11 Josh Maruca earned a tech fall (17-2) over Kurt Mode to further the lead for the Sun Devils.

No. 13 Anthony Valencia earned a final pin for the Sun Devils at 165, taking down Rodney Williams in 2:38.

Up next, the Sun Devils have a quick turn-around, traveling to Bakersfield, Calif. to take on CSU Bakersfield on Wed. Jan. 24 at 8 p.m. MST.

Results: No. 8/9 ASU 27, Oregon State 15
125: No. 11 Ryan Millhof (ASU) dec. No. 6 Ronnie Bresser (OSU), 9-4
133: Ali Naser (ASU) dec. Devan Turner (OSU), 5-2
141: Jack Hathaway (OSU) dec. Cory Crooks (ASU), 3-1 SV-1
149: No. 11 Josh Maruca (ASU) tech fall Kurt Mode (OSU), 17-2 (4:51)
157: Hunter Willits (OSU) dec. Oliver Pierce (ASU), 8-1
165: No. 13 Anthony Valencia (ASU) fall Rodney Williams (OSU), 2:38
174: No. 1 Zahid Valencia (ASU) fall Myles Terry (OSU), 1:37
184: Kordell Norfleet (ASU) major dec. Collbran Meeker (OSU), 16-5
197: Corey Griego (OSU) fall Austyn Harris (ASU), 4:34
HWT: Amar Dhesi (OSU) dec. No. 4 Tanner Hall (ASU), 9-5