Tony Carter of Hanks High School (TX) named NFHS National High School Wrestling Coach of the Year

By NFHS and other sources | Jan. 13, 2017, 10:37 a.m. (ET)
Photo of Hanks High School Wrestling team from Facebook page.

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (January 13, 2017)— Twenty-two high school coaches from across the country have been selected as 2016 National Coaches of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.

The recipients of this year’s national award for boys sports in wrestling is Anthony Carter, wrestling, El Paso (Texas) J.M. Hanks High School. The Hanks program includes teams for both boys and girls.

The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one “other” sport that is not included in the top 10 listings. The NFHS also recognizes a spirit coach as a separate award category. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award. This year’s awards recognize coaches for the 2015-16 school year.

Excerpt From El Paso Times, naming Tony Carter as 2016 El Paso Girls High School Coach of the Year (April 2, 2016)

The Eastwood Troopers and Hanks Knights were two of the top wrestling teams in the state this year. And the coaches who led the two teams to postseason success, Rocky Rodriguez and Tony Carter, had plenty to do with their team's success and are this year's El Paso Times' Boys and Girls Coaches of the Year, respectively.

Carter led the Knights' women's team to the their third straight state championship. The Knights won the Class 5A state championship with 175.5 points, followed by Frisco Liberty with 82.

"This year's team was very good, was very focused and was very supportive of one another," Carter said. "They were always cheering each other on, they wanted the very best for each other. To score as many points as we did is amazing. It was a team effort all the way around. The first state title we won was a complete thrill. The second one we used the momentum of that first state title and this year it was more stressful. There was pressure on us to keep it going, but the team was so strong and did a great job."

The Knights also won district and regional titles along the way. Four Hanks wrestlers won state titles: Shania Villalba at 102 , Dasia Ornelas at 110, Brianna Holcomb at 138 and Gianna Morales at 165. Adrienne Holguin also finished second at 148 pounds.

"I've known coach since I was 4-years-old," Holcomb said. "He's like a father figure to me. He's been a tremendous coach, he has helped all of us on the team get better. He is Hanks wrestling."

Additional information on NHSF awards

Other recipients of this year’s national awards for boys sports are: David Walker, football, Martinsburg (West Virginia) High School; George McCabe, Jr., track and field, East Bridgewater (Massachusetts) High School; Richard Kortokrax, basketball, Kalida (Ohio) High School; Kirk Bock, baseball, Bryant (Arkansas) High School; Philip Savitz, soccer, Lexington (South Carolina) River Bluff High School; Jeff Horsley, cross country, Soda Springs (Idaho) High School; Peter Ceprano, tennis, North Scituate (Rhode Island) Scituate High School; Hal Rossow, golf, Panora (Iowa) Panorama High School; and Michael Gunner, swimming and diving, Madison (Alabama) Bob Jones High School.

The recipients of the 2016 NFHS national awards for girls sports are: Don Berger, track and field, Salem (Oregon) North Salem High School; Anne Long, basketball, Columbia (South Carolina) Spring Valley High School; Gwenn Pike, volleyball, Fairway (Kansas) Bishop Miege High School; Katherine Stackel, soccer, Copenhagen (New York) Central High School; Ronnie Ooten, softball, Chapmanville (West Virginia) Regional High School; Scott Ball, cross country, Tigard (Oregon) Westside Christian High School; Peggy Holecek, tennis, Northbrook (Illinois) Glenbrook North High School; Andrew Pedersen, swimming and diving, Fishers (Indiana) Hamilton Southeastern High School; Reid Sclafani, golf, Garden City (New York) High School; and Danielle Gallagher, lacrosse, Manhasset (New York) High School.

The recipient of the National Coach of the Year Award for spirit is Erikka Ault of Edmond (Oklahoma) North High School, and Martha Faust of Mt. Horeb (Wisconsin) High School was chosen in the other sports category for Girls Gymnastics.

In addition to the 22 National Coaches of the Year, the NFHS Coaches Association has selected David McClusky, M.D. of Twin Falls, Idaho, as the recipient of the National Coach Contributor Award. This award is presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond in the coaching profession by exemplifying the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character, and who carries the endorsement of his or her respective state high school association.

The NFHS has a contact person in each state who is responsible for selecting deserving coach award recipients. This contact person often works with the state coaches’ association in his or her respective state. He or she contacts the potential state award recipients to complete a coach profile form that requests information regarding the coach’s record, membership in and affiliation with coaching and other professional organizations, involvement with other school and community activities and programs, and coaching philosophy. To be approved as an award recipient and considered for sectional and national coach of the year consideration, this profile form must be completed by the coach or designee and then approved by the executive director (or designee) of the state athletic/activities association.

The next award level after state coach of the year is sectional coach of the year. The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections. They are as follows: Section 1 – Northeast (CT, ME, MA, NH, NJ, NY, RI, VT); Section 2 – Mideast (DE, DC, KY, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV); Section 3 – South (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN); Section 4 – Central (IL, IN, IA, MI, WI); Section 5 – Midwest (KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD); Section 6 – Southwest (AR, CO, NM, OK, TX); Section 7 – West (AZ, CA, HI, NV, UT); and Section 8 – Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY).

The NFHS Coaches Association has an advisory committee composed of a chair and eight sectional representatives. The sectional committee representatives evaluate the state award recipients from the states in their respective sections and select the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category. The NFHS Coaches Association Advisory Committee then considers the sectional candidates in each sport, ranks them according to a point system, and determines a national winner for each of the 20 sport categories, the spirit category and one “other” category.

A total of 530 coaches will be recognized this year with state, sectional and national awards.