USA Wrestling Pre-seeds announced ...

Pre-seeds announced for ACC Wrestling Championships

By ACC | Feb. 28, 2017, 1:38 p.m. (ET)

GREENSBORO, N.C. — The Atlantic Coast Conference announced the seeding Tuesday for this Saturday’s 63rd ACC Wrestling Championship, which will be held at NC State’s Reynolds Coliseum in Raleigh, North Carolina, and regular season champion Virginia Tech garnered six of the 10 No. 1 seeds.


The seeds announced today are officially the pre-seeds, as the final entries can change as late as noon on Friday.

In all, nationally fourth-ranked Virginia Tech received six No. 1 seeds, while host and eighth-ranked NC State, the defending ACC Champion, and 23rd-ranked Pitt each have two No. 1 seeds.

Earning top seeds for the Hokies were senior Joey Dance (Christiansburg, Virgina) at 125 pounds, sophomore Solomon Chishko (Jeannette, Pennsylvania) at 149; redshirt senior Sal Mastriani (Towaco, New Jersey) at 157; redshirt junior Zach Epperly (Christiansburg, Virginia) at 174; redshirt junior Jared Haught (Parkersburg, West Virginia) at 197 and senior Ty Walz (Cleveland, Ohio) at 285.

NC State’s Kevin Jack (Danbury, Connecticut) earned the top seed at 141, and Wolfpack redshirt junior Michael Macchiavello (Monroe, North Carolina) is No. 1 at 184 pounds.

Pitt sophomore Te’Shan Campbell (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) is the top seed at 165 pounds, while the Panther’s sophomore Dom Forys (Pittsburgh) is No. 1 at 133.

In all, five 2016 ACC individual champions will be competing in Saturday’s Championship, led by Virginia redshirt senior George DiCamillo (Highland Heights, Ohio), who is seeking his fourth ACC title. Previously, DiCamillo won ACC Championships at 133 pounds in 2013, 2014 and 2016, But he will be wrestling at 141 pounds this year, where he is ranked sixth nationally, and may face Jack, the nation’s No. 2-ranked wrestler in that weight class, and possibly North Carolina’s Joey Ward, who is ranked seventh nationally. DiCamillo is seeded second at 141 pounds.

In addition to DiCamillo, Dance (125), Jack (141), North Carolina’s Ethan Ramos (174, Hawthorne, New Jersey) and Virginia Tech’s Zack Zavatsky (184, Latrobe, Pennsylvania) are returning ACC champions.

Six ACC runners-up also return from last year’s Championship in Forys, Chishko, Epperly, Haught, Walz and NC State’s Sean Fausz (125, Alexandria, Kentucky).

First-round action will begin at 11:03 a.m., followed by the Semifinals (1 p.m.), the Consolation Semifinals (3:30 p.m.), the Consolation Finals (5 p.m.) and the Championship Finals (7:03 p.m.).

Tickets are now on sale at

Tickets are priced at $7 for adults, $5 for youth (17 and under); children aged two and

under are admitted free of charge. ACC students with valid IDs are admitted free.

All bouts of the Championship will be streamed live on ACC Network Extra with Shawn Kenney and Dean Linke handling the play-by-play and Tim Foley and Roick Harrison providing the expert analysis.

During the preliminary rounds, the action will be streamed live from two mats, moving to one mat for the Finals on Saturday evening.