Led by four champions, Fresno City wins California Community College States by 32 points

By USA Wrestling | Dec. 10, 2017, 12:23 a.m. (ET)
Fresno City poses with its CCCAA State Championship trophy after a strong effort this weekend. Photo by John Sachs, Tech-Fall.com

Fresno City swept the first four weight classes during the gold-medal finals to repeat as the team champions at the California Community College State Championships on Saturday at San Joaquin Delta College in Stockton, Calif.

The Rams’ champions were Brandon Betancourt (125), Isiah Perez (133), Aaron Mora (141) and Dylan Martinez (149).

Betancourt started the run when he defeated Morgan Sauseda of Sacramento City, 7-1. Perez stopped Pedro Corona of Bakersfield, 8-1. Mora edged Joseph Dominguez of Mt. SAC, 8-5. Martinez scored a pin over Blake Boswell of Santa Rosa in 3:44.

The Rams had a pair of runners-up in Conrad Lopez (157) and Victor Vargas (165) and nine total placewinners. Fresno City finished with 184 points, 32 ahead of second place Mt. SAC with 152 points.

Mt. SAC was led by individual champion Apollo Santos, who beat Vargas in the 165 pound finals, 3-2. They had two runners-up and nine placewinners.

Repeating as champions were David Vanweems of Cerritos at 197 and Chance Eskam of Palomar at heavyweight.

Vanweems defeated Rob Nickerson of Sacramento City, 9-4 in the finals. Eskam edged Brandon Sotomayor of East LA, 3-2.

Other individual CCC state champions were James Schmidt of Rio Hondo (157), Anthony Cress of Chabot (174) and Adrian Godinez of Bakersfield (184).

Most Falls in Shortest Time - Josh Fuentes, Santa Ana - 3 Falls - 3:44
Outstanding Wrestler - Dylan Martinez, Fresno City - 149 lbs
Coach of the Year - Paul Keysaw, Fresno City
Assistant Coach of the Year - George Moreno, Fresno City
At Stockton, Calif.

Championship Finals

125- Brandon Betancourt (Fresno City) won by decision over Morgan Sauseda (Sacramento City) Dec 7-1
133- Isiah Perez (Fresno City) won by decision over Pedro Corona (Bakersfield) Dec 8-1
141- Aaron Mora (Fresno City) won by decision over Joseph Dominguez (Mt. SAC) Dec 8-5
149 - Dylan Martinez (Fresno City) won by fall over Blake Boswell (Santa Rosa) Fall 3:44
157- James Schmidt (Rio Hondo) won by major decision over Conrad Lopez (Fresno City) Maj 13-4
165- Apollo Santos (Mt. SAC) won by decision over Victor Vargas (Fresno City) Dec 3-2
174- Anthony Cress (Chabot) won by fall over Abel Garcia (Sacramento City) Fall 2:51
184- Adrian Godinez (Bakersfield) won by decision over Luis Melecio (Mt. SAC) Dec 10-4
197- David Vanweems (Cerritos) won by decision over Rob Nickerson (Sacramento City) Dec 9-4
285- Chance Eskam (Palomar) won by decision over Brandon Sotomayor (East LA) Dec 3-2

Final Team Standings

1. Fresno City FCC 184.0
2. Mt. SAC MSAC 152.0
3. Sacramento City SCC 98.0
4. Cerritos CER 86.0
5. Bakersfield BAK 71.5
6. Palomar PAL 67.5
7. Santa Ana SA 66.0
8. San Joaquin Delta DEL 56.5
9. Chabot CHA 55.0
10. Santa Rosa SRJC 37.5
11. Rio Hondo RIO 33.5
12. Lassen LAS 30.0
13. Modesto MJC 27.5
14. West Hills WH 22.5
15. Skyline SKY 21.5
16. Moorpark MPK 20.0
17. East LA ELAC 15.0
18. Sierra SIE 7.5
19. Shasta SHA 4.0
20. Cuesta CUE 0.0
21. Victor Valley VVC 0.0

Medal match results

3rd Place - Greg Viloria (San Joaquin Delta) won by decision over Elijah Diaz (Mt. SAC) (Dec 3-1)
5th Place - Danny Borrego (Skyline) won by decision over Brandon Mendoza (Modesto) (Dec 3-2)
7th Place - John Whisner (Mt. SAC) won by fall over Isaac Guerrero (Palomar) (Fall 3:22)

3rd Place - Adam Valdez (Mt. SAC) won in sudden victory - 1 over Josh Brown (Cerritos) (SV-1 11-5)
5th Place - Josh Fuentes (Santa Ana) won by fall over Tyler Poalillo (Santa Rosa) (Fall 2:41)
7th Place - Jeremy Newman (Sierra) won by fall over Zachary Moistner (Palomar) (Fall 0:58)

3rd Place - Abraham Del Toro (Fresno City) won by major decision over Adrian Marrufo (West Hills) (Maj 20-8)
5th Place - Nick Camacho (Cerritos) won by major decision over Jeremy Huang (Santa Ana) (Maj 13-2)
7th Place - Jacob Jimenez (Palomar) won by injury default over Brandon Rullan (San Joaquin Delta) (Inj. 1:04)

3rd Place - Wolgang Bernal (Santa Ana) won by decision over Manuel Salcedo (Mt. SAC) (Dec 9-2)
5th Place - Nathan Navida (Palomar) won by injury default over Emmett Kuntz (Bakersfield) (Inj. 0:00)
7th Place - Khalil Howard (Rio Hondo) won by fall over Carlos Vasquez (San Joaquin Delta) (Fall 2:18)

3rd Place -Wyatt Gerl (Cerritos) won by fall over Muhammad Lateef (San Joaquin Delta) (Fall 4:14)
5th Place - Josh McMillion (Fresno City) won by decision over Joseph Valdez (Mt. SAC) (Dec 5-4)
7th Place - William Schwertscharf (Modesto) won by decision over Jose Paiz (West Hills) (Dec 4-2)

3rd Place - Matthew Mejia (Mt. SAC) won by major decision over Brandon Tierney (Santa Ana) (Maj 13-5)
5th Place - Issac Bertalotto (Sacramento City) won by forfeit over Blake Vasquez (Cerritos) (FF)
7th Place - Josh Koning (Moorpark) won by fall over Brian Horn (Sacramento City) (Fall 0:23)

3rd Place - Hector Vargas (Mt. SAC) won by decision over Braulio Banuelos (Palomar) (Dec 7-5)
5th Place - Miguel Ruiz (Fresno City) won by decision over Cameron Casey (Santa Rosa) (Dec 8-5)
7th Place - Zach Gonzales (Cerritos) won by fall over Robert Flores (Moorpark) (Fall 6:18)

3rd Place - Tevin Bailey (Lassen) won by major decision over Jeremy Maas (Bakersfield) (Maj 14-2)
5th Place - Issac Sillas (Sacramento City) won by fall over Dylan Kranich (San Joaquin Delta) (Fall 0:41)
7th Place - Angel Verduzco (Cerritos) won by decision over Leo Perez (Santa Ana) (Dec 14-7)

3rd Place - Marcus Macias (Fresno City) won by fall over Lazaro Carrasco (Chabot) (Fall 1:23)
5th Place - Daniel Warden (Sacramento City) won by fall over Zavion Roberson (Bakersfield) (Fall 2:13)
7th Place - David Chavaria (Mt. SAC) won by decision over Tristan Begovic (Shasta) (Dec 4-4)

Open - 285
3rd Place - Cola Mair (Lassen) won by decision over Chumkaur Dhaliwal (Chabot) (Dec 5-3)
5th Place - Jesse Flores (Modesto) won by decision over Casey Jones (Fresno City) (Dec 1-0)
7th Place - Ramon Guzman (Skyline) won by decision over Ramiro Macias (Bakersfield) (Dec 3-2)