USA Wrestling Per-Kristian Stovrin...

Per-Kristian Stovring of Norway wins journalist prediction contest for 2017 World Championships in Paris

By Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling | Aug. 28, 2017, 7:26 p.m. (ET)

Every year, USA Wrestling asks international journalists to predict the winners of the World Wrestling Championships in all three styles. This year, with the World Championships in Paris, 23 international journalists sent in their predictions prior to the start of the championships.

Finishing in first place with 13 correct World Champions predicted was Per-Kristian Stovring, from Mattekanten in Norway.

Stovring picked four Greco-Roman champions, five women’s freestyle champions and four men’s freestyle champions. Of all of the journalists, Stovring was the only to select Zurabi Iakobishvili of Georgia as the men’s freestyle champion at 65 kg, and one of the few to select Ryu Han-Soo of Korea as the Greco-Roman champion at 66 kg.

Placing second with 12 correct champion predictions were Ali Feizasa of the Iranian Student News Agency and Petr Pavlov, a sports journalist from Yakutia in Russia.

The next group with 11 correct selections were four U.S. wrestling journalists, Dan Fickel of Wrestling USA, Andrew Hipps of InterMat and two from Flowrestling, Christian Pyles and Willie Saylor.

The journalists who selected the most Greco-Roman winners were Stovring and Saylor with four correct picks. The journalists with the most correct women’s freestyle selections were Feisaza, Fickel and Pavlov with six correct picks. The journalists with the most men’s freestyle selections were Feizasa, Stovring, Gerard Remus from Switzerland, Earl B. Smith of D1CW website plus two journalists from 49NorthWrestling website in Canada, Andy Ross and Eric Asselin with four correct picks.

Click here for the 23 journalist predictions

13 – Per-Kristian Stovring (Mattekanten-Norway)
12 – Ali Feizasa (Iranian Student News Agency), Petr Pavlov (Russian journalist)
11 – Dan Fickel (Wrestling USA), Andrew Hipps (InterMat), Christian Pyles (Flowrestling), Willie Saylor (Flowrestling)
10 – Sina Etamadi (USA Wrestling Fan), Dan Lobdell (Flowrestling), Earl Smith (D1CW website), Alex Steen (TheOpenMat)
9 – Justin Hoch (,
8 – Eric Asselin (49NorthWrestling), Tigran Avanian (Russian journalist), Ikuo Higuchi (Japan Amateur Wrestling Federation), Richard Immel (USA Wrestling), Andy Ross (49NorthWrestling)
7 – Cameron Drury (, Taylor Miller (USA Wrestling)
6 – Gerard Remus (Switzerland journalist)
5 – Gary Abbott (USA Wrestling), Joseph Dashou (49NorthWrestling), Mark Lundy (Lutte-lens)