Zahid Valencia, Teshya Alo named 2015 ASICS High School Wrestlers of the Year

By Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling | July 23, 2015, 10:40 a.m. (ET)
Photos of ASICS Wrestlers of the Year Zahid Valencia of California and Teshya Alo of Hawaii by John Sachs,

Every year at the ASICS/Vaughan Junior National Championships, the ASICS High School Wrestlers of the Year are announced. This recognizes the top high school athlete in the nation, regardless of age level.

This year’s recipients are Zahid Valencia of California for boys and Teshya Alo of Hawaii for girls.

They are featured on the ASICS All-American posters for this year, which have been unveiled during the ASICS/Vaughan Junior and Cadet Nationals. This poster will be mailed to every high school wrestling team and USA Wrestling club in the fall.

Valencia is a graduated senior from for St. John Bosco High School in Bellflower, California. He won state wrestling championships in 2012 as a freshman (106 pounds), 2014 as a junior (132 pounds), and 2015 as a senior (182 pounds). He was named Outstanding Wrestler at the state tournament three times. He was also third in the state as a sophomore, and compiled an overall record of 158-1 with 100 pins and 12 technical falls.

Valencia won the Walsh Ironman tournament four consecutive years, becoming only the second wrestler in history to accomplish this feat. He also won three USA Wrestling Cadet National titles, two in freestyle (2012, 2013) and one in Greco-Roman (2013).

Valencia won the 2015 UWW Junior World Team Trials in Madison, Wis. in June, and will represent the United States at the UWW Junior World Championships in Brazil in August. This past week, Valencia competed at his first Senior-level tournament, winning a silver medal at 86 kg at the Grand Prix of Spain.

Valencia will attend Arizona State in the fall.

Alo completed her junior year at Kamehameha High School in Honolulu, Hawaii, where she is a three-time Hawaii girls state champion.

Alo was a 2014 UWW Cadet World champion. She also won a bronze medal at the 2013 UWW Cadet World Championships.

In June, Alo placed third at the U.S. Senior World Team Trials in Madison, Wis. at two different weight classes, 58 kg and 60 kg, qualifying for the U.S. Senior Women’s National Team. She was also fourth at the 2015 U.S. Senior Open in Las Vegas.

Earlier this week, Alo won her third Junior Nationals title in Fargo, N.D. Combined with her two Cadet National titles, Alo has won an amazing five titles in Fargo, with another year in high school still ahead.

Three girls have won the ASICS Girls High School Wrestler of the Year twice, Tatiana Padilla of California (2007 and 2008), Jenna Burkert of New York (2010 and 2011) and Haley Augello of Illinois (2012 and 2013). Alo will be eligible to win the award again during her senior year

ASICS Boys High School Wrestler of the Year
1986 - Laurence Jackson, California
1987 - Dan Knight, Iowa
1988 - Alan Fried, Ohio
1989 - Adam Mariano, New York
1990 - Ray Brinzer, Pennsylvania
1991 - Scott Schluchter, Oklahoma
1992 - Cary Kolat, Pennsylvania
1993 - Joe Williams, Illinois
1994 - Oscar Wood, Oregon
1995 - Sean Hage, Georgia
1996 - David Kjeldgaard, Iowa
1997 - Kenny Cox, Oregon
1998 - T.J. Hill, Missouri
1999 - Damion Hahn, New Jersey
2000 - Jesse Jantzen, New York
2001 - Steven Mocco, New Jersey
2002 - Zack Esposito, New Jersey
2003 - Roger Kish, Michigan
2004 - Dustin Schlatter, Ohio
2005 - Troy Nickerson, New York
2006 – Henry Cejudo, Colorado
2007 – Cody Gardner, Virginia
2008 – Jason Chamberlain, Utah
2009 – David Taylor, Ohio
2010 – Logan Stieber, Ohio
2011 – Morgan McIntosh, California
2012 – Taylor Massa, Michigan
2013 – Kyle Snyder, Maryland
2014 – Chance Marsteller, Pennsylvania
2015 – Zahid Valencia, California

ASICS Girls High School Wrestler of the Year
2001 - Toccara Montgomery, Ohio
2002 - Brandy Rosenbrock, Michigan
2003 - Samantha Lang, Oregon
2004 - Ali Bernard, Minnesota
2005 - Deanna Rix, Maine
2006 – Jackie Cataline. California
2007 – Tatiana Padilla, California
2008 – Tatiana Padilla, California
2009 – Adeline Gray, Colorado
2010 – Jenna Burkert, New York
2011 – Jenna Burkert, New York
2012 – Haley Augello, Illinois
2013 – Haley Augello, Illinois
2014 – Kayla Miracle, Indiana
2015 – Teshya Alo, Hawaii