Dake, Dlagnev, Ramos win championship belts in first Global Wrestling Championships

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | Nov. 22, 2014, 5:08 p.m. (ET)
ITHACA, N.Y. – The first three Global Wrestling Championships belt winners were crowned on its inaugural event, in front of a capacity crowd at the Friedman Wrestling Center on the campus of Cornell University.

In the main event, in an agreed-upon three round freestyle bout, Kyle Dake won the welterweight championship belt with a victory over Andrew Howe, one round to none, with a cumulative 2-0 score.

Dake scored a takedown with nine seconds left to win the first round, 2-0. In the second and third rounds, neither athlete could score. Based upon the three-round agreement between the athletes, Dake was awarded the championship belt.

Dake won his first match since February 2014, when he injured a foot and could not complete the 2014 international season.

“It’s been a long time. I am glad I could do it in front of the Cornell fans. This is my hometown and I love the Cornell fans,” said Dake.

Dake praised Howe for his ability and toughness after the match.

“He is a great competitor, a tough opponent. I couldn’t get the takedowns I wanted, but I was able to win it at the end,” said Dake.

Howe asked the organizers to continue the match after three rounds, because neither wrestler had won two rounds. GWC rules have a provision for overtime, if one wrestler wins the most rounds but the other wrestler had the most total points. His request was not granted.

“I’d like to keep wrestling,” said Howe on center mat when the bout was finished. “I’m going to keep coming.”

Dake and Howe battled in an amazing match at the 2013 World Team Trials, which went into sudden death overtime. Dake won the match 4-2, in a bout that went 11:40, including 5:44 of sudden death.

Dake was a four-time NCAA champion for Cornell, the first to win four titles in four different weight classes. Howe was an NCAA champion for Wisconsin, and finished his career at Oklahoma as a four-time All-American. He was second in the 2012 Olympic Trials.

A total of $30,000 was awarded, with the three championship winners earning $7,500 each, and the three wrestlers who lost in the matches awarded $2,500 each.

Claiming the heavyweight belt in three straight rounds was two-time World bronze medalist and Olympian Tervel Dlagnev, who beat Tyrell Fortune with a 9-0 cumulative score. In the first round, Dlagnev scored a single leg takedown. He added a spin-behind takedown and a pushout in the second round. Dlagnev closed out the match with two spin-behind takedowns in the third round.

Dlagnev had beaten Fortune twice in the past, winning in two straight bouts in the finals series of the 2013 World Team Trials.

“It’s a lot of fun. I like that guys like Fortune are pushing me. He’s a World champion in his own right, winning the University World Championships last year. It keeps me honest and focused. They have to beat me to be the best. But I also have to beat them to be the best,” said Dlagnev.

Winning the first GWC championship belt was 2014 World Team member Tony Ramos, who defeated 2012 Olympian Sam Hazewinkel in a match that went the full five rounds. Ramos won three rounds to none, with a cumulative score of 10-0. Two of the rounds were scoreless.

After a scoreless first round, Ramos won the second round 2-0 on a single leg takedown with 30 seconds left in the round. The third round was also scoreless, although both athletes were close to finishing shots. Ramos scored a spin-behind takedown and a snatch single takedown to win round four, 4-0. In the fifth round, Ramos added a low single leg takedown and a two-point ankle lace turn to win the round 4-0.

“I’m ready to wrestle another 15 minute match. It feels real good,” said Ramos matside after the victory.

Ramos was an NCAA champion for Iowa, and a three-time All-American. Hazewinkel was a four-time All-American from Oklahoma, who was a two-time U.S. Open champion in Greco-Roman before switching to freestyle.

In their last matchup, Ramos defeated Hazewinkel at the 2014 World Team Trials championship series in Madison, Wis.. Ramos won the first match in Madison, 4-0, then the second match, 5-4.

“I was wrestling smart. I knew if I got underneath him and got quick finishes, I could win. I couldn’t hang out in that front headlock position. It’s about training hard. You have to push yourself hard so you can wrestle 30-40 minutes straight,” said Ramos.

The Global Wrestling Championship rules were based on international freestyle, with a change in format to five three-minute rounds. There is no technical fall in GWC matches.

Titan Mercury Wrestling Club shut out the Finger Lakes Wrestling Club in the preliminary freestyle dual meet between national caliber wrestling clubs, five matches to none.

Three of the Titan Mercury victories came by technical fall, by Joe Colon (61 kg), Montell Marion (65 kg) and Deron Winn (97 kg).

Colon needed just 48 seconds to defeat Dalton McCree, 10-0, scoring two takedowns and three gut wrenches to put him away.

Marion jumped to a 7-0 first period lead over Joe Gallaso, then hit a four-point fireman’s carry to end the match at 11-0 just 17 seconds into the second period.

Winn also dominated in both positions with three takedowns and two gut wrenches to stop Ben Bennett, 10-0 late in the first period.

Other winners for Titan Mercury were Nazar Kulchytskyy, who stopped Nate Carr, Jr. 11-6 at 70 kg, as well as Wynn Michalak, who scored a first-period takedown and gut wrench to beat Enock Francois, 4-0 at 97 kg.

The card was webcast live on GFL.tv as a pay-per-view event. It was hosted prior to the Cornell vs. Oklahoma Div. I college dual meet also held at the Friedman Wrestling Center,

Prior to the start of the competition, Global Wrestling Championships organizer Wayne Boyd thanked the fans for supporting this new wrestling promotion.

“We want to make our sport fun for the fans. We will start on that here today. Thank you for coming. We can’t do it without you,” said Boyd

At Ithaca, N.Y., November 22, 2014

FLYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP – Tony Ramos dec. Sam Hazewinkel, 3 rounds to 0, 10-0 final score. (0-0, 2-0, 0-0, 4-0, 4-0)

HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP – Tervel Dlagnev dec. Tyrell Fortune, 3 rounds to 0, 9-0 final (2-0, 3-0, 4-0)

WELTERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP – Kyle Dake dec. Andrew Howe, 1 round to 0, 2-0 final (2-0, 0-0, 0-0)

Prize money awarded
$7,500 each to Tony Ramos, Tervel Dlagnev, Kyle Dake
$2,500 each to Sam Hazewinkel, Tyrell Fortune, Andrew Howe

Titan Mercury WC 5, Finger Lakes WC 0
(contested under FILA freestyle rules)

61 kg – Joe Colon (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Dalton Macri (Finger Lakes WC), 10-0, 0:48
65 kg – Montell Marion (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Joe Galasso (Finger Lakes WC), 11-0, 3:17
70 kg – Nazar Kulchytskyy (Titan Mercury WC) dec. Nate Carr, Jr. (Finger Lakes WC), 11-6
86 kg – Deron Winn (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Ben Bennett (Finger Lakes WC), 10-0, 2:14
97 kg – Wynn Michalak (Titan Mercury WC) dec. Enock Francois (Finger Lakes WC), 4-0