USA Wrestling Outstanding American...

Outstanding American - JIM JORDAN

June 20, 2014, 7:48 a.m. (ET)

Jim Jordan might be the best wrestler ever to occupy an elected position in the United States Government. His wrestling credentials alone speak volumes, especially in a profession where a strong voice must be heard.

Raised in Champaign County, Ohio, Jordan graduated in 1982 from Graham High School where he was a four-time state wrestling champion with a career record of 150-1. He went on to wrestle for the University of Wisconsin
from 1982 - 1986. During that time he was a three-time All-American and a two-time NCAA champion. Jordan placed sixth in the 134-pound weight class as a sophomore followed by NCAA titles the next two seasons. His 1985 NCAA title was particularly memorable, as he defeated eventual six-time World and Olympic champion John Smith of Oklahoma State in the finals. Jordan’s final college career record was 15628-1.

He graduated from Wisconsin with a degree in economics. Jordan was voted most dedicated athlete on his team for three consecutive seasons, which was foreshadowing of success to come. He would take the lessons he learned on the wrestling mat into the realm of public service.

The former Badger standout would go back to his home state to serve as an assistant coach at Ohio State from 1986 - 1994. Jordan also earned a Master’s degree in education from Ohio State and a law degree from Capital University in Columbus, Ohio.

Jordan was first elected to the Ohio General Assembly in 1994 and served three terms as state representative of the 85th Ohio House District. In 2000, he won a seat in the Ohio Senate by a margin of 88 percent to 12 percent.

Since January 3, 2007, Jordan has represented Ohio’s 4th congressional district in the U.S. House of Representatives. He won congressional terms during the 2008, 2010, and 2012 by convincing margins. Jordan has also received numerous awards during his time as a congressman, including National Legislator of the Year, Freedom Fighter Award, and the Thomas Jefferson Award.