USA Wrestling Olympian John Matthe...

Olympian John Matthews one of 29 champions crowned at the first ever Greco Roman Veteran s National

By John Fuller | May 07, 2003, 12 a.m. (ET)

Las Vegas, Nev. - Two-time Olympian John Matthews of Arizona led the charge at the inaugural Greco-Roman Veterans National Championships held May 7, 2003. Matthews defeated Mike Gaughan (Unattached) and Scott Hessner (Lehigh Valley WC) in round-robin competition at 85 kg in Division D for the gold medal. Matthews was a member of the 1976 and 1980 U.S. Olympic teams. He also placed fourth at the 1978 World Championships. Also winning titles in Division D were Clifford Ray (Arizona) at 58 kg, Ronald Engel (Napa Valley WC) at 63 kg and Bruce Quinn Jr. (Fall Guys) at 130 kg. Ray and Quinn were 2001 freestyle Veterans national champions. Gershon Horowitz (Fall Guys) was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler after defeating Mansour Honovar (Laguna Beach WC) and Sonny Boyd (Virginia) in round-robin competition at 76 kg in Division E. Boyd was a 2001 freestyle Veterans national champion. Capturing Division E titles along with Horowitz were Boris Parkhomovsky (Washington WC) at 69 kg, James Tenniehill (J&R Turner WC) at 85 kg and Larry Prosper (California) at 130 kg. Tenniehill captured a freestyle Veterans national title in 2001. Six-time freestyle Veteran's World Champion Russ Cozart (Brandon WC) captured his seventh U.S. Veterans national title with an 11-0 technical fall over Ron Reider (Washington WC) at 69 kg in Division C. Also winning Division C titles were Mark Jordan (Arrow Rock) at 58 kg, Paul Herder (Montrose) at 63 kg, Bruce Moe (North Dakota) at 76 kg, Steve Conterino (Unattached) at 85 kg, Leonard Simon (OGW) at 97 kg and David Eads (Capital City WC) at 130 kg. In Division I, 2001 freestyle Veteran's national champions J.T. Petty (Embry-Riddle) and Kevin Pine (Elma WC) were both defeated in the Greco-Roman finals. Petty lost to Ronald Hughes (California) at 69 kg by a 7-1 score. Pine was downed by Steve Horton (U.S. Air Force) at 76 kg by a 4-1 score. Other Division A champions were Darren Goldstein (North Shore WC) at 58 kg, Patrick Higa (East L.A. Centurions) at 63 kg, Scott Bohlken (Wildcat WC) at 85 kg, Wayne Purtell (Dave Schultz WC) at 97 kg and Jim Richardson (Minnesota Storm) at 130 kg. In Division B, newly-crowned champions were Mark LeVasseur (New Ulm Rolling Thunder) at 58 kg, Brad Gustafson (Toolee) at 63 kg, Mike Mann (U.S. Marine Corps) at 69 kg, Murray Lee Crews (OGW) at 76 kg, Curtis Nelson (Elite WC) at 85 kg, Mitchell Robert (Calvary Chapel) at 97 kg and Kevin Donofrio (Brandon) at 130 kg. Winners of the Greco-Roman Veterans National Championships will compete at the 2003 Greco-Roman Veteran's World Championships August 15-17 in Odessa, Ukraine. The freestyle Veterans National Championships will begin on Thursday, May 8 at 3:00 p.m.