USA Wrestling UPDATE Fronhofer tw...

UPDATE Fronhofer two time state champion from New York

By Gary Abbott | May 13, 2000, 12 a.m. (ET)

Fronhofer is the lone returning champion at the 2000 FILA Junior Greco-Roman National Championships and World Team Trials at the University of Nebraska Bob Devaney Sports Center Arena in Lincoln, Neb., May 12.

Carl Fronhofer of Pittsburgh, Pa. pinned John Lorenz of Marquette, Mich. in 1:30 to win his second FILA Junior National title at the University of Nebraska Bob Devaney Sports Center Arena in Lincoln, Neb., May 12.

Many of the best high school and college wrestlers in the nation were in Lincoln, Neb. for the 2000 FILA Junior National Wrestling Championships and World Team Trials, held at the University of Nebraska Bob Devaney Sports Center Arena, May 12.

Fronhofer was also named the Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. This is his second straight year receiving this award. He is a two-time state champion from New York.

Other winners include: Travis Harrison of Eugene, Ore. at 110 pounds, Clint Wolfley of Blackfoot, Idaho at 119 pounds, Zack Allen of Shawnee, Kan. at 127.75 pounds, Josh Lamano of Layton, Utah at 138.7 pounds, Joe Privitere of Binghamton, N.Y. at 152 pounds, Jake Clark of Quantico,Va. at 187.25 pounds, Tommy Rowlands of Columbus, Ohio at 213.75 pounds and Andy Bowlby of Corvallis, Ore. at 286 pounds.

The FILA Junior age-group was formerly known as the Espoir Division. FILA, the International Governing Body, changed the name of the age-group three years ago. These athletes are between 17 and 20 years old, and include college underclassmen, military athletes and high school wrestling stars who will be competing in freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling, the Olympic styles of the sport.

The winner at each weight class of the FILA Junior National Championships/World Team Trials in freestyle and Greco-Roman will qualify to compete on the 2000 U.S. FILA Junior World Team. If an athlete claims titles in both styles, he will be allowed to choose the style in which he wishes to compete in at the World Championships.

The 2000 FILA Junior freestyle and Greco-Roman World Championships will be held in Nantes, France, July 3-9.

The freestyle competition will begin on Saturday, May 13 with session times of 10:00 a.m., 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m., and continues on Sunday, May 14 with the starting time of 9:00 a.m. and concludes with finals are finished later that day.


at Lincoln, Neb., May 12

50 kg/110 lbs. - 1st - Travis Harrison, Eugene, Ore. dec. Luke Smith, Chippewa Falls, Wis., 8-4; 3rd - Daryl Spackman, Sandy, Utah

54 kg/119 lbs. - 1st - Clint Wolfley, Blackfoot, Idaho won by tech. fall over Dustin Brewer, Kansas City, Mo., 11-0; 3rd - Jason Powell, Lincoln, Neb. won by tech. fall over Desmond Radunz, W. St. Paul, Minn., 11-1; 5th - Cam Jones, Sandy, Utah won by inj. for.; 6th - Davey Starks, Stoughton, Wis.; 7th - Levi Evans, Brighton, Colo.; 8th - Ben Sullivan, Salt Lake City, Utah

58 kg/127.75 lbs. - 1st - Zack Allen, Shyawnee, Kan. pinned Tommy Owen, Spokane, Wash., 0:56; 3rd -Jason Harless, Springfield, Ore. won by tech. fall over Josh Moore, Franklin, Pa., 11-0; 5th - Ty Malia, Lincoln, N.C.; 7th - Carson Bernard, Loveland, Colo. won by inj. dft. over Mike Simpson, Anaheim, Calif.

63 kg/138.7 lbs. - 1st - Josh Lamano, Layton, Utah won by tech. fall over Kelly Madden, Pekin, Ill., 12-0; 3rd - Shane Cunanan, Corvallis, Ore. dec. Scott Moore, Franklin, Pa., 4-1; 5th - Robb Maxwell, Sandy, Utah dec. Dusty Spaulding, Council Bluff, Kan., 9-3; 7th - Kurt Lorenz, Gilroy, Calif. won by tech. fall over Joey Malia, Lincoln, Neb., 10-0

69 kg/152 lbs. - 1st - Joe Privitere, Binghamton, N.Y. pinned Tyler Marr, Wyoming, Minn., 2:38; 3rd - James Woodall, Dupont, Pa. dec. Ryan Berger, Mahomet, Ill., 4-2; 5th - Jason Woodall, Dupont, Pa. dec. Jeremiah Jarvis, Davil, Calif., 11-9; 7th - Trevor Hill, Lincoln, Neb. dec. Herman Baker, Marquette, Mich.

76 kg/167.5 lbs. - 1st - Carl Fronhofer, Pittsburgh, Pa. pinned John Lorenz, Marquette, Mich., 1:30; 3rd - Luke Crockett, Boise, Idaho won by tech. fall over Blu Wahle, Underwood, Iowa, 11-0; 5th - Joshua McClay, Hastings, Minn. won by inj. dft. over Mike Fiedler, Sauk Centre, Minn.; 7th - Brad Tupa, Dundas, Minn. pinned Jacob Volkmann, Henning, Minn., 4:18

85 kg/187.25 lbs. - 1st - Jake Clark, Quantico,Va. won by tech. fall over Justin Millard, Laceyville, Pa., 10-0; 3rd - Drew Hageman, Newberg, Ore. won by tech. fall over Alexander Lammers, Huber Heights, Ohio, 11-0; 5th - Nick Zajac, Hastings, Minn. dec. Ryan Jorgensen, La Grande, Ore., 4-1; 7th - Dan Martinez, Los Osos, Calif. won by inj. dft. over Quint Swanberg, Scottsdale, Ariz.

97 kg/213.75 lbs. - 1st - Tommy Rowlands, Columbus, Ohio pinned Jack Wyne, Corvallis, Ore., 1:21; 3rd - Brian Kraemer, Cold Spring, Minn. pinned Nicholas Curby, Champaign, Ill., 1:55; 5th - Michael Christian, Lynnwood, Wash. dec. Eli Ross, Owatona, Minn., 8-0; 7th - Wesley Balensifer, Corvallis, Ore. won by tech. fall over Noah Hopper, Ashland, Ore., 14-4

130 kg/286.5 lbs. - 1st - Andy Bowlby, Corvallis, Ore. dec. Paul Devlin, Fort Carson, Colo., 3-1.; 3rd - Russ Davie, Perrysburg, Ohio dec. Dave Walker, S. San Francisco, Calif., 7-1; 5th - Bronson Lingamfelter, Providence, R.I dec. Michael Flanagan, St. Paul, Minn., 6-2; 7th - Jim Rennise, Mary, N.Y. dec. Corey Anderson, Cutchogue, N.Y., 9-4

Outstanding Wrestler - Carl Fronhofer

Most Falls - Andy Bowlby with 3 pins in 3:33

Team Standings: 1. Minnesota Storm - 35 pts.; 2. Treehouse Athletic Club - 31 pts.