USA Water Ski & Wake... 2022 National Junior...

2022 National Junior Water Ski Team Selected

By USA Water Ski & Wake Sports | Jan. 19, 2022, 4:16 p.m. (ET)

Erick Macias trick skiing

Erick Macias competing at the 2021 GOODE Water Ski National Championships. Photography by Scott N. Atkinson

Top junior water ski athletes from across the nation have been selected to the American Water Ski Association’s National Junior Water Ski Team for 2022. The 25 selections from the Boys/Girls 3, Boys/Girls 4, and Boys/Girls 5 divisions were based on performances during the 2021 tournament season and the previous 12 months.

Using selection criteria approved by the American Water Ski Association’s board of directors, the top junior athletes in the country were named as National Junior Water Ski Team members by the National Junior Development Committee. This team will not collectively represent the United States in any international competitions, but some of these athletes are expected to compete individually in the 2022 Junior Masters Water Ski Tournament and the 2022 Junior U.S. Open Water Ski Championships.

Athletes are chosen based on the highest performance standards for slalom, trick, and jump. Using the AWSA National Ranking list, the top two overall three-event skiers in each division listed above for both the previous ski year and the last 12 months will be selected to the National Junior Water Ski Team. Additionally, if a junior skier earns an “open” rating in overall or in any single event, they will be selected to the team. Finally, if a skier sets a benchmark score overall or in any event regardless of the age division criteria, and does not otherwise make the team, an extra team member is added.

Selected to the 2022 National Junior Water Ski Team were (alphabetical order): Alexia Abelson (Holderness, N.H.), Jake Abelson (Holderness, N.H.), Nora Bally (Axis, Ala.), BG Bickley (Macon, Ga.), Will Blair (Mooresville, N.C.), Paul Wesley Corey (Sacramento, Calif.), Cameron Davis (Milford, Va.), Emma Davis (Milford, Va.), Jaeden Eade (Clermont, Fla.), Claire Eddins (Florence, Ala.), Matthew Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), Elizabeth Hall (Newnan, Ga.), Samantha Hoops (Coatesville, Ind.), Alana Jones (Church Point, La.), Ty Kosek (Buffalo, Minn.), Erick Macias (Winter Garden, Fla.), Reid Meinhardt (Alpena, Mich.), Alexis Mishler (Milford, Ind.), Julie Mishler (Milford, Ind.), Kendra Nathan (Canyon Lake, Calif.), Carter Reese (Walnut Creek, Calif.), Ty Robbins (Wexford, Pa.), Cleia Stern (Groveland, Fla.), Makayla Todd (Carmichael, Calif.), and Connor Walsh (Lakeland, Fla.).

The American Water Ski Association’s National Junior Development Committee would like to congratulate all the junior competitors and their families for the tremendous amount of time, effort, and dedication they have applied in their quest for excellence.

For more information on AWSA’s National Junior Development program, click here.