15 Racers Win U.S. Open Titles

Oct. 18, 2011, 1:12 p.m. (ET)
Fifteen of the United States' top water ski racing athletes won titles at the seventh annual U.S. Open Water Ski Racing National Championships, Oct. 15-16, on Mission Bay in San Diego, Calif. The National Water Ski Racing Association, a sport discipline of USA Water Ski since 1991, sanctioned the two-day competition.

More than 50 athletes competed in two rounds of circle-sprint races on a 2-1/2-mile course located between East Vacation Isle and Fiesta Island. Athletes from the same class race on an oval course with straight-a-ways approximately one-mile in length and turns at three buoys. The athletes drew for pole positions, made a deep-water start at the drop of a green flag and raced in lanes for a designated number of laps. Athletes competed for titles in 17 age divisions and classes. Overall placements were determined by total number of points. In the event of a tie, total race time broke the tie.

Among the highlights, Brady Hoggins (Rialto, Calif.) won the Men's Open title for the third time in the past five years, and Erin Saunders (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) won the Women's Open title for the second consecutive year. Hoggins also won the 17-29 Men title.

Other athletes earning U.S. Open titles in respective divisions were: Lexy Doherty (Oakley, Calif.), 16 & Under Girls; Tracy Saunders (Huntington Bach, Calif.), Women’s Novice; Amy Threlfall (Palmdale, Calif.), 17-29 Women; Lori Dunsmore (Boulder City, Nev.), 30 & Over Women and Women’s Outboard; Todd Haig (Redlands, Calif.), 30-49 Men; Mike Haig (Redlands, Calif.), GrassRoots; Brent Griffin (Moraga, Calif.), Stock Boat; Sean Gettmann (Oakley, Calif.), Hands Out Front; Glen Anderson (Studio City, Calif.), Men’s Outboard; Ben Taylor Jr. (Los Angeles, Calif.); Brian Samaniego (Yorba Linda, Calif.), 60 MPH Open; Bob Grande (Santee, Calif.), 50-60 Men; and Terry Jesse (Diamond Bar, Calif.), 61 & Over Men.

Denny Valdez (Duarte, Calif.) and Dennis Hall (Alta Loma, Calif.) earned awards as the top-scoring driver and observer, respectively.

For complete results, click here (PDF).