ULM Wins Collegiate Nationals

Oct. 17, 2011, 7:53 p.m. (ET)
The University of Louisiana-Monroe water ski team won the Division 1 national title at the 33rd Collegiate Water Ski National Championships, Oct. 13-15, at Tri-Lakes in Zachary, La. The Warhawks tallied 11,865.0 points in winning their first national title since 2009 and 23rd title in the history of the event. The University of Louisiana-Lafayette finished second, scoring 10,905.0 points.

The competition included 12 teams in Division 1 and 10 teams in Division 2. National team champions were declared in both divisions. Individual medals for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes' placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events.

The Division 1 field was comprised of Alabama, Arizona State, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Cincinnati, UC Davis, Florida Southern, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Ohio State, Rollins, Texas A&M and Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Florida Southern finished third with 10,675.0 points. Alabama was fourth with 10,110.0 points and Arizona State placed fifth with 9,205.0 points.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 1 were: Louisiana-Monroe's Tyler Scott (Covington, La.), men's slalom (1 buoy at 39-1/2 feet off); Louisiana-Lafayette's Lorenzo D'Alberto (Italy), men's tricks (5,370 points); Alabama's Caroline Hensley (Hixson, Tenn.), women's slalom (5 buoys at 38 feet off) and overall 1,680.0 points); Florida Southern's Lauren Morgan (Odessa, Fla.), women's jumping (157 feet); Louisiana-Lafayette's Nancy Chardin (France), women's tricks (3,880 points); and Louisiana-Monroe's Zack Worden (Deltona, Fla.), men's jumping (194 feet) and overall (1,640.0 points). Morgan's and Worden's respective jumping distances are both pending NCWSA national records. If approved by the NCWSA, Morgan's mark will surpass the record of 155 feet set by Louisiana-Monroe's Alex Lauretano at the 2010 South Central Regional Championships. Worden's mark will surpass the record of 193 feet set by Louisiana-Monroe's Ryan Fitts at the 1999 Collegiate Nationals.

To view the Division 1 scorebook, click here.

The Division 2 field was comprised of Chico State, Clemson, Iowa, Louisiana State, North Carolina, Purdue, Texas, Texas State, Western Washington and Wisconsin.

Texas State won the Division 2 title, scoring 7,215.0 points. Purdue finished second with 7,170.0 points. Wisconsin  (6,940.0 points), Clemson (6,520.0 points) and Iowa (5,870.0 points) rounded out the top-five placements.

Athletes winning individual national titles in Division 2 were: Purdue's Michael Bullock (Brentwood, Tenn.), men's slalom (2 buoys at 38 feet off); Wisconsin's Tyler Lorenz (Oconomowoc, Wis.), men's jumping (158 feet) and overall (1,310.0 points); Clemson's Karl Szatrowski (Westfield, Mass.), men's tricks (2,600 points); North Carolina's Rachel Shepard (Odessa, Fla.), women's slalom (5 buoys at 32 feet off) and tricks (2,090 points); and Western Washington's Alex Bachmeier (Spanaway, Wash.), women's jumping (82 feet) and overall (1,280.0 points).

To view the Division 2 scorebook, click here.