24 Athletes Win Titles On Day 2 Of 80th Goode Nationals

The 80th annual Goode Water Ski National Championships continued Monday at Mystic Lakes in Maize, Kan., with 24 athletes winning titles in respective divisions and events. More than 500 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the seven-day tournament that culminates Saturday. 


Advancement to the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify by placing in the top-five in the previous year’s event or at respective 2022 regional championships.

The American Water Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, and Mystic Lakes Water Ski Club are hosting the tournament.

Among the highlights on Day 2, 13 athletes won national overall titles in respective age divisions. Local husband and wife duo Erin and Cole Kalkbrenner (Maize, Kan.) won national titles in respective events. Erin secured the Women 3 national overall title a day after winning the Women 3 national tricks title, while Cole won the Men 3 national jumping title. Rebecca Bartlett (Wolfeboro, N.H.) won the Women 3 national jumping title for the sixth consecutive year with a distance of 74 feet. Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.) won her ninth consecutive national overall title, winning Women 6 with 2,772.20 points. She also won national titles in slalom and jumping. Will Bush (Elk Grove, Calif.) won the Men 8 national slalom title, his first career national title, defeating Daniel Wamhoff (Hope, Mich.) in a run-off. After both skiers tied with 2 buoys at 38 feet off, Bush won the subsequent run-off, scoring 6 buoys at 35 feet off to Wamhoff’s 2 buoys at 35 feet off.

Monday’s (Day 2) National Champions

Men 6 Slalom: Mark Brandt (Chippewa Falls, Wis.), 4 buoys at 38 feet off; Men 6 Overall: Mitch Grau (Carrollton, Texas), 2,748.20 points; Men 7 Slalom: Jack Mills (Jacksonville, Fla.), 5 buoys at 39-1/2 feet off; Men 7 Overall: Stephen Miller (Marysville, Wash.), 3,106.0 points; Men 8 Slalom: Will Bush (Elk Grove, Calif.), 2 buoys at 38 feet off; Men 8 Overall: David Keller (Somerset, Ky.), 1,424.2 points; Men 9 Slalom: Bob Hardeman (Lockeford, Calif.), 1-1/2 buoys at 35 feet off; Men 9 Overall: Stan Switzer (Mulberry, Fla.), 2,074.50 points; Men 10 Slalom and Overall: John Howell (Spotsylvania, Va.), ½ buoy at 32 feet off/1,196.90 points; Men 11 Slalom: Roger Wahl (Prior Lake, Minn.), 5 buoys at 15 feet off; Men 11 Overall: Bruce Kunde (Sterling, Ill.), 3,043.40 points; Women 6 Tricks: Libby Van Treese (Maria Stein, Ohio), 3,000 points; Women 7 Tricks and Overall: Janie Fausold (Pleasant Grove, Calif.), 2,590 points/2,364.60 points; Women 8 Tricks and Overall: Leza Harrison (Chuluota, Fla.), 1,540 points/2,813.10 points; Women 9 Tricks and Overall: Janet Piercy (Ashland, Neb.), 980 points/1,067.70 points; Women 3 Tricks and Overall: Erin Kalkbrenner (Maize, Kan.), 3,260 points/3,040.70 points; Women 4 Tricks and Overall: Jane Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), 3,840 points/3,120.20 points; Men 3 Tricks: Benjamin Lohr (Orlando, Fla.), 6,410 points; Women 6 Jumping and Overall: Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.), 99 feet/2,772.20 points; Women 7 Jumping: Janet Madden (Homer Glen, Ill.), 47 feet; Women 8 Jumping: Brenda Cavenaugh (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), 34 feet; Women 3 Jumping: Rebecca Bartlett (Wolfeboro, N.H.), 74 feet; Men 3 Jumping: Cole Kalkbrenner (Maize, Kan.), 179 feet; and Men 3 Overall: Graham Fizer (Mooresville, N.C.), 2,962.4 points.


View Scorebook.


Competition continues Tuesday at 7:00 a.m.

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.



Sponsors of the GOODE Water Ski National Championships