18 Athletes Win Titles On Day 1 At 80th Goode Nationals

The 80th annual Goode Water Ski National Championships kicked off Sunday at Mystic Lakes in Maize, Kan., with 18 athletes winning national titles in respective divisions and events. More than 500 water ski athletes from across the United States are competing for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions during the seven-day tournament that culminates next Saturday.


Advancement to the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify by placing in the top-five in the previous year’s event or at respective 2022 regional championships.

The American Water Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, and Mystic Lakes Water Ski Club are hosting the tournament.

Among the highlights on Day 1: Elgin Faulkner (Houston, Texas), age 93, became the oldest male ever to ski in the Water Ski National Championships. He placed second in Men 11 tricks and jumping. He will compete in slalom on Monday. Harry Price (De Leon Spring, Fla.) held the mark most recently, competing in the Nationals at age 92 in 2019.

Sunday’s (Day 1) National Champions

Women 6 Slalom: Joy Kelley (Loudon, Tenn.), 2-1/2 buoys at 35 feet off; Women 7 Slalom: Shann Mills (Jacksonville, Fla.), 3-1/2 buoys at 32 feet off; Women 8 Slalom: Leza Harrison (Chuluota, Fla.), ½ buoy at 35 feet off; Women 9 Slalom: Shirley Coble (Lillington, N.C.), 3 buoys at 22 feet off; Women 3 Slalom: Ali Fluke (Salt Lake City, Utah), 3-1/2 buoys at 32 feet off; Women 4 Slalom: Jane Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), 2 buoys at 32 feet off; Men 3 Slalom: Graham Fizer (Mooresville, N.C.), 4 buoys at 38 feet off; Men 6 Tricks: Jon Penner (Austin, Texas), 2,930 points; Men 7 Tricks: Stephen Miller (Millersville, Wash.), 2,480 points; Men 8 Tricks: Bruce Kistler (Winter Haven, Fla.), 2,750 points; Men 9 Tricks: Stan Switzer (Mulberry, Fla.), 1,850 points; Men 10 Tricks and Jumping: Carrol “Bud” Piercy (Ashland, Neb.), 870 points/0 feet; Men 11 Tricks and Jumping: Bruce Kunde (Sterling, Ill.), 460 points/32 feet; Women 4 Jumping: Jenny Withrow (Scott, Ark.), 94 feet; Men 6 Jumping: Mitch Grau (Carrollton, Texas), 133 feet; Men 7 Jumping: Paul Armour (Princeton, Texas), 114 feet; Men 8 Jumping: Joe Cordina (Parker, Texas), 46 feet; and Men 9 Jumping: Dennis Longo (Coral Gables, Fla.), 52 feet.


View Scorebook.


Competition continues Monday at 7:00 a.m. (CDT).

The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.

Sponsors of the GOODE Water Ski National Championships