Home USA Volleyball Features Lloy Ball Among Lege...

Lloy Ball Among Legends to be Honored at 2016 Boyce

By Bill Kauffman (bill.kauffman@usav.org) | Nov. 25, 2015, 1:51 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Nov. 25, 2015) – Save the date to help celebrate 13 legends who will be presented corporate awards at USA Volleyball’s Dorothy C. Boyce Recognitions and Awards Banquet in Orlando on May 25, 2016.

The 71st Annual Boyce Banquet will take place at the Hyatt Regency Orlando during the USA Volleyball Annual Meetings two days before the start of the USA Volleyball Open National Championships set for May 27-June 1 in Orlando. Tickets are $55 per person or $500 per table of 10. To purchase tickets, click here.

Among this year’s honorees are athletes, coaches, officials and leaders who have all made an impact on the sport and USA Volleyball.

The Tom Haine All-Time Great Male Indoor Player Award will have two recipients in 2016. Lloy Ball, a recent inductee into the International Volleyball Hall of Fame, is a four-time Olympian and led Team USA to the gold medal in 2008. Eric Sato earned Olympic gold in 1988 and followed with an Olympic bronze medal in 1992.

Nina Matthies will receive the All-Time Great Female Beach Volleyball Player Award. She won 44 titles and medaled 90 times in 140 beach events before retiring in 1992 at age 40.

Allison Aldrich and Eric Duda will receive the All-Time Great Female and Male Sitting Volleyball Player Awards, respectively. Aldrich is a three-time Paralympic Games medalist having won bronze in 2004 followed by silver medals in 2008 and 2012. Duda is the longest active tenured player on the U.S. Men’s Sitting Volleyball Team having competed in the 2004 Paralympic Games and helping Team USA qualify for the 2016 Paralympics.

Mark Pavlik has been selected to receive the Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award in the contemporary Division. He has over 500 wins in 21 years leading the Penn State men’s volleyball team, including the 2008 NCAA national championship.

Peter Diamond, NBC Olympics senior vice president of programming, will be presented the Harry E. Wilson Distinguished Service Award for his impact in bringing volleyball and beach volleyball to the television forefront during the Olympic Games.

Bill Hamiter, Patricia Salvatore and Glenn Sapp will receive the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award. Hamiter has led the U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team to two ParaVolley World Championship silver medals and a Paralympics silver medal while serving as a Coaching Accreditation Program cadre instructor and leader within the Oklahoma Region Volleyball Association. Salvatore, the only woman to work as an FIVB international volleyball and beach volleyball referee, officiated during four Olympic Games including three indoor and one beach. She was the second referee during the 2004 Olympic Games gold-medal match. Sapp, commissioner of the Rocky Mountain Region since 1999, is a long-time indoor and beach referee, including an appointment to officiate at the 2008 Olympic Games beach volleyball event.

Mike Carter will be presented the Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award for his long and distinguished career that spanned four decades of officiating matches and providing leadership to the officials division.

Carla Hall, USA Volleyball senior manager of international programs and executive operations, will receive the James E. Coleman National Team Award. She has over 32 years of experience working with our National Teams programs and has been a part of every single athlete’s National Team experience from a logistics standpoint.

The Boyce Banquet concludes with the presentation of Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award, the highest honor bestowed by USA Volleyball and is secret until its announcement at the banquet.

The Boyce Banquet will also highlight leaders within the host Florida Region, as well as having an Olympic/Paralympic-themed Boyce Moment honoring USA Volleyball's Olympians/Paralympians from the past, current and hopefuls heading into the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Awards Presented at Boyce Banquet
Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award: Announced May 25 at Boyce Banquet
Tom Haine All-Time Great Male Indoor Player Award: Lloy Ball, Eric Sato
All-Time Great Female Beach Player Award: Nina Matthies
All-Time Great Male Sitting Volleyball Player Award: Eric Duda
All-Time Great Female Sitting Volleyball Player Award: Allison Aldrich
Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award – Contemporary Division: Mark Pavlik
Harry E. Wilson Distinguished Service Award: Peter Diamond
George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award: Bill Hamiter, Glen Sapp, Patricia A. Salvatore
Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award: Mike Carter
James E. Coleman USA National Team Award: Carla Hall