Home USA Volleyball Features Boyce Banquet to Hon...

Boyce Banquet to Honor Game's Legends

March 05, 2015, 5:10 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (March 5, 2015) - The 70th Annual Dorothy C. Boyce Banquet and Reception will honor 12 legendary figures within the volleyball community as part of USA Volleyball’s corporate awards program on May 20 at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center.

The Boyce Banquet is the signature event during the USA Volleyball Annual Meetings.

The individual honorees represent a wide array of categories within USA Volleyball’s award structure. Individuals being honored during the Boyce Banquet are:

  • Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player: Tara Cross-Battle
  • Tom Haine All-Time Great Male Player: Duncan McFarland
  • All-Time Great Male Beach Player: Karch Kiraly
  • All-Time Great Female Beach Player: Kathy Gregory
  • All-Time Great Female Sitting Player: Lora Webster
  • Donald Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award (Contemporary Division): Charlie Sullivan
  • Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach Award (Pioneer Division): Carol Dewey
  • George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award: Kathy DeBoer, Jeff Hoppen, Terry Lawton
  • Wilbur H Peck Referee Emeritus Award: Marcia Alterman
  • Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award: Jeff Hoppen

The Dr. Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award, the top honor given out by USA Volleyball, is secret until announced during the Boyce Banquet.

Cost to attend the banquet and reception is $50 per person or $450 for a table of 10. Tickets can be purchased online by clicking here.