Home USA Volleyball Features Twelve Selected for ...

Twelve Selected for Men's Pan American Roster

By Jessica Hall | Aug. 08, 2014, 10:10 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (August 7, 2014) – USA Volleyball has chosen the 12 players who will compete at the IX Men’s Pan American Cup being held Aug. 11-16 in Tijuana, Mexico.

The 12-player U.S. rosters has one returnee, libero Michael Brinkley (Huntington Beach, Calif.), from the 2013 Pan American Cup roster. Charlie Sullivan, the men’s head coach at Springfield College, will serve as the squad’s head coach.

The middle blockers for Team USA include UCLA senior Spencer Rowe (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.), UC Irvine alum Scott Kevorken (Westlake Village, Calif.), University of Hawaii senior Taylor Averill (San Jose, Calif.) and Loyola University-Chicago sophomore Nicholas Olson (New Berlin, Wis.).

Zachary La Cavera (Huntington Beach, Calif.), a junior at UC Irvine, and Spencer Rowe (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.), a UCLA graduate, will be the opposites.

Ball State graduate Graham McIlvaine (Hinsdale, Ill.) and Lewis University senior Robert Boldog (Palatine, Ill.) will serve as setters for Team USA.

Andrew "A.J." Nally, who graduated from Springfield College in 2010, will be an outside hitter for Team USA. Nally has been playing professionally for four years in Holland, France and Germany.

In addition to Nally, Long Beach State graduate Taylor Crabb (Honolulu), UCLA graduate Robart Page (Rochester, N.Y.) and UC Irvine graduate Jeremey Dejno (New Berlin, Wis.) are on the roster at outside hitter.

Sullivan will be assisted by Theo Edwards, a men’s assistant at Cal State Northridge, and Nils Nielsen, who is a volunteer with the UCLA men’s volleyball team.

Other teams scheduled to compete at the 2014 IX Men’s Pan American Cup are Argentina, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and host Mexico.

The U.S. is scheduled to share a pool with Colombia and Mexico. Brazil, who is not participating in the event this year, is the defending champion of the annual event last held in 2013 at at the Juan de la Barrera Olympic Gymnasium in Mexico City.

The highest ranked participating National Team in the final results of the competition will qualify for the 2015 FIVB World League. 

# - Name (Position, Hometown, Height, Club/College)
3 – Spencer Rowe (Opp, Trabuco Canyon, Calif., 6-7, UCLA)
4 – Taylor Crabb (OH, Honolulu, Hawaii, 6-1, Long Beach State)
5 – Graham Mcilvaine (S, Hinsdale, Ill., 6-2, Ball State)
7 – Michael Brinkley (L, Huntington Beach, Calif., 5-8, UC Irvine)
11 – Scott Kevorken (MB, Westlake Village, Calif., 6-7, UC Irvine)
12 – Robart Page (OH, Rochester, N.Y., 7-0, UCLA)
13 – Taylor Averill (MB, San Jose, Calif., 6-7, University of Hawaii)
14 – Jeremy Dejno (OH, New Berlin, Wis., 6-3, UC Irvine)
17 – Zachary La Cavera (OPP, Huntington Beach, Calif., 6-4, UC Irvine)
18 – Andrew Nally (OH, Rochester, N.Y., 6-2, Springfield College)
20 – Robart Boldog (S, Palatine, Ill., 6-3, Lewis University)
22 – Nicholas Olson (MB, New Berlin, Wis., 6-8, Loyola University)

Head Coach: Charlie Sullivan
Assistant Coach: Theo Edwards
Assistant Coach: Nils Nielsen
Physiotherapist: Steve Miller
Team Manager: Sam Zapatka

Schedule and results for the 2014 IX Men’s Pan American Cup (All Times PDT)

Aug. 11
Canada vs. Venezuela (Pool C), 3 p.m.
Cuba vs. Puerto Rico (Pool B), 5 p.m.
Mexico vs. Colombia (Pool A), 7 p.m.

Aug. 12
Puerto Rico v Dominican Republic (Pool B), 3 p.m.
Venezuela v Argentina (Pool C), 5 p.m.
Colombia v USA (Pool A), 7 p.m.

Aug. 13
Dominican Republic v Cuba (Pool B), 3 p.m.
Venezuela v Argentina (Pool C), 5 p.m.
Mexico v USA (Pool A), 7 p.m.

Aug. 14
Ninth-place match, 3 p.m.
Quarterfinals, 5 p.m.
Quarterfinals, 7 p.m.

Aug. 15
Seventh-place match, 3 p.m.
Semifinals, 5 p.m.
Semifinals, 7 p.m.

Aug. 16
Fifth-place match, 3 p.m.
Bronze medal match, 5 p.m.
Gold medal match, 7 p.m.