Home USA Volleyball Features Olympic Mens Volleyb...

Olympic Mens Volleyball Field Determined

June 11, 2012, 12 a.m. (ET)


Photo: Courtesy FIVB

Reid Priddy attacks against Serbia during the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

Release Courtesy of the FIVB

LAUSANNE, Switzerland (June 11, 2012) – Following the completion of the Asia Continental Olympic Qualification and three World Olympic Qualification Tournaments on Sunday, the qualifying process for the men’s volleyball competition at the 2012 Olympic Games is now complete with Serbia, Australia, Bulgaria and Germany claiming the last four vacancies.

A total of 12 teams have qualified for the Olympic Games in a process that started with the FIVB World Cup in Japan at the end of last year.

The winner and the best Asian side at the 10-day joint Asia and World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Tokyo, Japan qualified for London with Serbia winning the event and Australia piping Iran into second place and the title of best-Asia team while the two three-day World Olympic Qualification Tournaments in Bulgaria and Germany saw the host teams qualify as the winners.

They join hosts Great Britain, World Cup medalists Russia, Poland, Brazil and the other continental tournament winners Tunisia, USA, Italy and Argentina.

Serbia was the bronze medalist in Atlanta 1996 and won the gold medal in the Sydney Summer Games in 2000 while finishing fifth in 2004 and 2008.

For Australia, it will be the third time at the Olympics having finished eighth in Sydney and 11th in 2004.

For Germany, it is the fourth time it has qualified for the Olympic Games having participated in 1968, 1972 and then 2008 when it finished ninth.

Bulgaria has participated seven times, however its fifth-place finish in Beijing was the 1980 silver medalist’s first appearance since 1996.

Olympic Games Men’s Volleyball Qualified Teams

Hosts: Great Britain (WR92)

2011 World Cup winners: Russia (WR2)

2011 World Cup runners up: Poland (WR4)

2011 World Cup third place: Brazil (WR1)

Africa winners: Tunisia (WR18)

NORCECA winners: USA (WR6)

CEV winners: Italy (WR3)

CSV winners: Argentina (WR8)

AVC winners: Australia (WR22)

World Olympic Qualification winners (JPN): Serbia (WR7)

World Olympic Qualification winners (BUL): Bulgaria (WR9)

World Olympic Qualification winners (GER)” Germany (WR13)