USA Volleyball Features USAV Reveals Men's P...

USAV Reveals Men's Pan Am Cup Roster

Aug. 16, 2013, 6:30 p.m. (ET)

The 2013 U.S. Men's Pan American Cup Team
   Standing from left: Allan Vince, Ryan Ammerman (14), Dan McDonnell (9), Russ Lavaja (18), Andy Hein (10), Jacek Ratajczak (17),
   Taylor Hughes (7), Shawn Sangrey (15), Joe Sunder (6), Shawn Patchell, Nick MacRae
   Kneeling form left: Taylor Sander (19), Connor Olbright (1), Michael Brinkley (8), Josh Taylor (4), Will Price (12), Ryan Jay Owens (5)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans, Manager, Communications, Phone: (719) 228-6800, E-Mail:
USAV Facebook - @USA_Volleyball

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Aug. 16, 2013) – The final 12-man roster for the U.S. Men’s Pan American Cup team includes four players currently in college.

The seven-team Pan American Cup tournament will be played Aug. 19-25 at the Juan de la Barrera Gymnasium in Mexico City.

The four current college players to make the roster are BYU senior outside hitter Taylor Sander (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Long Beach State senior setter Connor Olbright (Orange, Calif.), Pepperdine junior outside hitter Josh Taylor (Honolulu, Hawaii) and UC Irvine junior libero Michael Brinkley (Huntington Beach, Calif.).

Sander has the most international experience of the three. He was named the most valuable player of the 2012 Pan American Cup as the U.S. Men won the gold medal. He also played on the 2011 Junior National Team that finished fourth at the FIVB World Championship. Taylor and Olbright also played on the 2011 Junior National Team and Brinkley was an alternate.

Two other players on the final roster return from the 2012 U.S. Men’s Pan American Cup team: setter Ryan Ammerman (Denver, Colo.) and middle blocker Dan McDonnell (Glendale, Ariz.).

“This year, we only have three returning players from last year's gold medal team but they will provide leadership for this young group to compete again for the cup,” U.S. Head Coach Shawn Patchell said. “We have had a good training block and continue to get better as a team. We have a big target on our back since we won it last year. But if we pass and serve with poise, I like our chances to defend.”

Besides Sander and Taylor, Ryan Jay Owens (Evanston, Ill.) and Joe Sunder (Greensburg, Pa.) are on the roster at outside hitter.

In addition to McDonnell, Jacek Ratajczak (Warsaw, Poland) and Russ Lavaja (St. Charles, Ill.) are listed at middle blocker. 

Will Price (Laytonsville, Md.) and Shawn Sangrey (Columbia, Pa.) will be the opposites.

Patchell, who coached the 2012 Pan American Cup team and is currently the men’s head coach at Concordia University, will be assisted by coach Allan Vince, the men’s head coach at Cal Baptist, and technical coordinator Nick MacRae of Long Beach State.

At the 2013 Pan American Cup, Argentina, Brazil and Puerto Rico will compete in Pool A, while Mexico, the United States, Dominican Republic as well as Trinidad and Tobago will be part of Pool B.

The highest ranked participating National Team in the final results of the competition, not already qualified to the FIVB World League 2014, will qualify to the FIVB World League Qualification Tournament Challenge Event.

U.S. Men’s Team Roster for Pan American Cup
No. Name (Position, Height, Hometown, College)
1 Connor Olbright (S, 6-4, Orange, Calif., Long Beach State)
4 Josh Taylor (OH, 6-7, Honolulu, Hawaii, Pepperdine)
5 Ryan Jay Owens (OH, 6-6, Evanston, Ill., Orange Coast College)
6 Joe Sunder (OH, 6-7, Greensburg, Pa., Penn State)
8 Michael Brinkley (L, 5-10, Huntington Beach, Calif., UC Irvine)
9 Dan McDonnell (MB, 6-6, Glendale, Ariz., UC Irvine)
12 Will Price (Opp, 6-5, 207, Laytonsville, Md., Penn State)
14 Ryan Ammerman (S, 6-8, Parker, Colo., UC Irvine)
15 Shawn Sangrey (Opp, 6-5, Columbia, Pa., Ohio State)
17 Jacek Ratajczak (MB, 7-2, Warsaw, Poland, Cal State Northridge)
18 Russ Lavaja (MB, 6-7, St. Charles, Ill., BYU)
19 Taylor Sander (OH, 6-4, Huntington Beach, Calif., BYU)

Head Coach: Shawn Patchell (Concordia University)
Assistant Coach: Allan Vince (Cal Baptist University)
Team Manager/Technical Coordinator: Nick MacRae (Long Beach State)
Physiotherapist: Jamie Rodgers