USA Volleyball Features VNL Finals Set for C...

VNL Finals Set for Chicago: USA, Poland, Brazil, Iran, Russia and France to battle for gold

By B.J. Hoeptner Evans ( | June 30, 2019, 6:34 p.m. (ET)

The U.S. Men listen to the National Anthem

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 30, 2019) – Five grueling weekends of preliminary play have determined the five teams that will join the U.S. Men’s National Team in the Finals of the FIVB Volleyball Nations League on July 10-14 at Credit Union 1 Arena in Chicago.  Brazil, Poland Russia, France and Iran will battle with the U.S. for the title of VNL champion.

The VNL is the most important annual international volleyball competition with the winning team taking a check for $1 million. This will be the first time that the United States has hosted a major men’s volleyball event outside of the Olympic Games and will surely be a precursor to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games next summer.

The United States is ranked No. 2 in the world and is the only country to have medaled at both the 2018 VNL Finals and at the 2018 FIVB World Championship. The U.S. roster includes Chicago-area natives Thomas Jaeschke, a 2016 Olympic medalist, and Jeff Jendryk. 

Team USA will face a strong field including Brazil, the defending Olympic champions and top ranked team in the world. In addition, the Americans will face two-time defending world champion Poland, defending VNL champions Russia, 2018 VNL silver medalist France, and Iran, the defending Asian zonal champion.

Tickets are available at

Registration for media credentials is available at