USA Volleyball Features Scott Chosen for Ina...

Scott Chosen for Inaugural USAV Courage Award

By Bill Kauffman ( | April 23, 2019, 6:35 p.m. (ET)

Danielle Scott blocking during the 2006 international season
Danielle Scott will be honored with USA Volleyball's first-ever Courage Award during its Hall of Fame induction ceremony on May 22 in Columbus

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 23, 2019) – Danielle Scott, Team USA’s only five-time indoor volleyball Olympian, faced tough challenges on the court throughout her 20-year playing career with the U.S. Women’s National Team. Now she will be recognized for exhibiting extraordinary bravery off the court when USA Volleyball presents her its first-ever Courage Award at the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame on May 22 in Columbus, Ohio.

USA Volleyball Hall of FameIn November 2018, Scott suffered multiple stab wounds as she valiantly tried to protect her sister Stefanie Vallery, who was under attack from her estranged husband. Vallery died as a result of the attack and Scott was transported to a local hospital and spent several months recovering from the wounds incurred in the scuffle. Without thinking twice, Scott put her life on the line to try to save that of her loved one.

“There are no words to describe how brave Danielle was on that fateful night last November,” USA Volleyball CEO Jamie Davis said. “She exemplifies everything good about humanity and we couldn’t be prouder to have created a new USA Volleyball Courage Award to recognize her heroic actions. She should be a role model for us all.”

Scott has mostly recovered from her injuries suffered last fall and will be competing as a player-coach in the Open Division of the USA Volleyball Open National Championships being held May 24-29 in Columbus.

Scott’s career spanned from 1994 to 2013 and included a silver medal at the 2002 FIVB World Championship. Furthermore, she earned consecutive Olympic Games silver medals in 2008 and 2012 to cap her international career with Team USA.

Scott will be honored during the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame’s Dorothy C. Boyce Banquet at the Hyatt Regency. The banquet begins at 6:30 p.m. Tickets can be purchased at Others being recognized during the Hall of Fame inductions are John Kessel as the Frier Award recipient, Misty May-Treanor as the All-Time Great Female Beach Player and retiring Ohio State University Men’s Volleyball Head Coach Pete Hanson as the All-Time Great Coach Contemporary Division. In total 24, individuals are being recognized.

2019 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Recipients
John Kessel - Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award
Misty May-Treanor - All-Time Great Female Beach Player Award
Ron Von Hagan - All-Time Great Male Beach Player Award
Kendra Lancaster - All-Time Great Female Player Award – Sitting
Beth McLachlin - Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player Award
Bryan Ivie - Tom Haine All-Time Great Male Player Award
Bill Stratton - All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division (2019 Only)
J. Raskin - All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division (2019 Only)
Bjorn “Joe” Johansen - All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division (2019 Only)
Bernie Specht - All-Time Great Player Award – Pioneer Division (2019 Only)
Stephanie Schleuder - Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach Award – Pioneer Division
Pete Hanson - Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach Award – Contemporary Division
Steve Bishop - George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Gloria Cox - George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award
Joel Reinford - Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award
Tom Sullivan – Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award
Lori Okimura – William G. Morgan Award
Sherry and Kevin Wong – Junior Outstanding Program Director
Priscila Cunha de Almeida – Junior Outstanding Female Coach
Ken Levy – Junior Outstanding Clinician
Kari Duncan – Junior Outstanding Referee
Colleen Houk – Junior Outstanding Service
Trish Fay – Junior Outstanding Parent

Related Athletes

head shot

Danielle Scott