USA Volleyball Features Beach Teams Begin Fo...

Beach Teams Begin Fort Lauderdale Qualification

By B.J. Hoeptner Evans ( | Feb. 27, 2018, 12:23 a.m. (ET)

Trevor Crabb attacks

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (Feb. 26, 2018) – Four U.S. beach teams will play qualification matches on Tuesday at the Fort Lauderdale Major at Fort Lauderdale Beach Park.

Trevor Crabb and Skylar DelSol won the U.S. men’s country quota on Monday by defeating Miles Evans and Bill Kolinske, 21-19, 21-18, in 41 minutes. Earlier in the afternoon, Crabb and DelSol posted a 21-16, 21-18 win in 35 minutes over Avery Drost and Adam Roberts.

Crabb and DelSol will play Austria’s Martin Ermacora and Moritz Pristauz in the first round of qualification.

Billy Allen and Ryan Doherty will face China’s Likejiang Ha and Jiaxin Wu in the first round of qualification.

In women’s qualifying, Betsi Flint and Kelley Larsen will take on Colombia’s Andrea Galindo and Claudia Galindo. Emily Day and Brittany Hochevar will take on Nicole Eiholzer and Elena Steinemann of Austria.

Teams will have to win two matches to qualify for the main draw, which begins on Wednesday. The women’s medal matches will take place Saturday and the men’s medal matches will finish the tournament on Sunday.

U.S. men’s teams that will open play in the main draw are Phil Dalhausser / Nick Lucena, Jake Gibb / Taylor Crabb, Casey Patterson / Stafford Slick and John Hyden / Theo Brunner.

U.S. women’s teams that will open in the main draw are Nicole Branagh / Lauren Fendrick, Kelly Claes / Sara Hughes, Brooke Sweat / Summer Ross and April Ross / Alix Klineman.

U.S. Women’s Teams

Brittany Hochevar and Emily Day (Coach Jon Daze)
Betsi Flint and Kelley Larsen

Main Draw
Lauren Fendrick and Nicole Branagh
Kelly Claes and Sara Hughes (Coach Jose Loiola)
April Ross and Alix Klineman (Coach Jen Kessy)
Brooke Sweat and Summer Ross (Coach Drew Burdette)

U.S. Men's Teams

Ryan Doherty and Billy Allen
Trevor Crabb and Skylar Del Sol

Main Draw
Phil Dalhausser and Nick Lucena (Jason Lochhead)
Jake Gibb and Taylor Crabb (Rich Lambourne)
John Hyden and Theo Brunner
Stafford Slick and Casey Patterson (Coach Mark Fishman)

Sports Medicine: Aimee Miyazawa and Aaron Brock
Video: Tyler Widdison