NCVF Heading to St. Louis in 2018; Preview of 2017 Event

By Bill Kauffman ( | April 12, 2017, 9 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 12, 2017) – The National Collegiate Volleyball Federation, in cooperation with USA Volleyball, has selected St. Louis, Missouri, and the America’s Center Convention Complex as the host city and venue for its 2018 NCVF Collegiate Club Championships to be played April 12-14, 2018. The event is run in partnership with USA Volleyball.

“St. Louis is a fantastic fit for us to showcase the spirit and competitiveness of our championship tournament,” NCVF President Sante Perrelli said. “With over 440 NCVF collegiate volleyball clubs from across the country participating, we are confident that St. Louis will roll out the red carpet for our athletes, families and friends. We look forward to collaborating with our long-time partner USA Volleyball to make the 2018 NCVF National Championship Tournament an outstanding sporting and community experience.”

St. Louis will be hosting the NCVF event for the first time. Participants from the record 444 teams expected to enter will enjoy close proximity to hotels, numerous restaurants and nightlife in the downtown convention center district.

“USAV, in conjunction with the NCVF, is pleased to be bringing the national championship to St. Louis for the first time,” USA Volleyball Senior Director Tom Pingel said. “St. Louis has been a tremendous volleyball partner city to work with in past USA Volleyball events, and I fully expect NCVF participants to enjoy their experience next year in The Gateway City.”

The 2017 NCVF Collegiate Club Championships, which takes place April 13-15 at the Kansas City Convention Center Bartle Hall/Municipal Auditorium, has drawn a record 444 teams in 10 divisions.

This year’s event in Kansas City will have five divisions each for men and women. Men will compete in Division I (48 teams), Division IAA (48 teams), Division IAAA (36 teams), Division II (48 teams) and Division III (48 teams). Women will have championship brackets for Division I (48 teams), Division IAA (48 teams), Division IAAA (36 teams), Division II (36 teams) and Division III (48 teams).

Video streaming of NCVF championship matches on April 15 will be available by clicking here.

The NCVF acts as the national governing body for organized collegiate club volleyball competitions. For over two decades, NCVF volunteers have provided a full range of support for student club teams by promoting year-long affordable, organized and competitive volleyball events, and supporting a season-ending national championship tournament. It is made up of students, volleyball conference commissioners, player representatives, coaches, officials, trainers, recreation sports directors and many volunteers. The organization devotes 100 percent of its resources and funding toward the support of quality collegiate club volleyball activities.

For additional information on the NCVF Collegiate Club Championships and the NCVF organization, click here.

2017 NCVF Top Seeds by Division
Men’s Division I: 1. Marquette A; 2. Wisconsin-Oshkosh A; 3. Cal Poly A; 4. Wisconsin A; 5. Iowa State A
Men’s Division IAA: 1. Michigan A; 2. Delaware A; 3. Virginia A; 4. Southern Illinois; 5. Colorado State
Men’s Division IAAA: 1. Rochester Institute; 2. Illinois-Chicago; 3. Loyola-Chicago; 4. South Carolina; 5. LSU
Men’s Division II: 1. Messiah; 2. Saint Louis; 3. University of the Pacific; 4. Claremont; 5. Sonoma State
Men’s Division III: 1. Arizona B; 2. Wisconsin B; 3. Cal Poly B; 4. Wisconsin-Oshkosh; 5. Salt Lake Community College
Women’s Division I: 1. Texas A; 2. Michigan State A; 3. Texas A&M A; 4. Marquette A; 5. Minnesota A
Women’s Division IAA: 1. Cal Poly A; 2. Missouri A; 3. Delaware A; 4. Stanford; 5. Santa Clara
Women’s Division IAAA: 1. Arizona State A; 2. Georgia Tech; 3. Missouri State; 4. Northern Colorado; 5. San Jose State A
Women’s Division II: 1. Wisconsin-LaCrosse; 2. Bellarmine; 3. Stetson; 4. Sonoma State A; 5. Wisconsin-Oshkosh A
Women’s Division III: 1. Ohio State B; 2. Colorado State B; 3. Texas B; 4. Texas A&M B; 5. Michigan State B