USA, China Rosters Set for USAV Cup in Hawaii

By Bill Kauffman | May 29, 2015, 6:02 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 29, 2015) – The USA Volleyball Cup will produce some offensive fireworks as the No. 1 U.S. Women’s National Team hosts No. 3 China have announced their rosters laden with veteran talent to compete in the first two matches of the four-match series in Hawaii and California.

The USA Volleyball Cup starts with two matches at the University of Hawaii’s Stan Sheriff Center on June 5 and June 6. The teams travel across the Pacific to play in UC Irvine’s Bren Center on June 9, before concluding the USA Volleyball Cup in the Inland Empire at Cal State San Bernardino on June 12 in Coussoullis Arena. All four matches will have first serve at 7 p.m. local time.

The series is a rematch of the 2014 FIVB World Championship in which Team USA defeated China 3-1 in the gold-medal match. The U.S. Women’s title was their first triple crown event (Olympic Games, FIVB World Championship, FIVB World Cup) gold medal in program history.

Related: USA Volleyball Cup Tickets | FIVB World Grand Prix Preliminary Rosters | Women's Landing Page

U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Karch Kiraly and his staff have selected 14 players including home state hero Tama Miyashiro (Kaneohe, Hawaii) at libero. She will share time at the position with Kayla Banwarth (Dubuque, Iowa). Outside hitters Megan Easy (Durham, N.C.), Kim Hill (Portland, Ore.), Jordan Larson-Burbach (Hooper, Neb.), Kelsey Robinson (Bartlett, Ill.). Opposites chosen to compete in the two Hawaii matches are Kelly Murphy (Zanesfield, Ohio) and Karsta Lowe (Rancho Sante Fe, Calif.).

Middle blockers named to the first half of the USA Volleyball Cup are Foluke Akinradewo (Plantation, Fla.), Tori Dixon (Burnsville, Minn.), Lauren Gibbemeyer (St. Paul, Minn.) and Cursty Jackson (Los Angeles). Setters are Molly Kreklow (Delano, Minn.) and Courtney Thompson (Kent, Wash.).

China Head Coach “Jenny” Lang Ping has selected a 15-player roster that includes the FIVB World Championship Best Outside Hitter Zhu Ting and Hui Ruoqi, an offensive weapon China’s bronze medal in 2011 FIVB World Cup and fifth place in 2012 London Olympics Games.

Nine of the 15 Chinese players participated in the 2014 FIVB World Championship including two-time Olympic Games Setter Wei Qiuyue. The others are Zeng Chunlei, Yuan Xinyue, Yang Fangxu, Shen Jingsi, Yang Junjing and Shan Danna.

Hill was named most valuable player of the 2014 FIVB World Championship, while Larson-Burbach has been selected MVP of two prestigious club tournaments this year including the FIVB Club World Championship held in May. Easy returns to international competition after being away from the national team since mid-2013 following her marriage and giving birth to her first child. Along with Hill and Larson-Burbach, Akinradewo, Banwarth, Dixon, Fawcett, Robinson and Thompson were members of the gold-medal winning World Championship team. Lowe will be making her international debut with Team USA.

Kiraly will have the opportunity to change the Team USA roster once the event moves to California.

As China prepares for the 2016 Olympic Games, Lang Ping is looking to expose as many young players she can to high quality international competitions. Some of those new faces include Yan Ni, Ding Xia, Zhang Changning, Lin Li, Liu Yanhan and Zhang Xiaoya.

“It is a special honor to participate in the 2015 USA Volleyball Cup, and even more so this year as we will be competing alongside the 2014 USA Women’s FIVB World Champions!” Lang Ping said. “This is a great opportunity to develop our young players."

To purchase tickets online:

Team USA is holding its third Red-Blue intrasquad scrimmage on May 29 at Aliso Niguel High School in Aliso Viejo, Calif. First serve is at 7 p.m. PT.

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster of USA Volleyball Cup Matches on June 5-6
# - Name (Position, Ht, Hometown, College)
2 – Kayla Banwarth (L, 5-10, Dubuque, Iowa, University of Nebraska)
3 – Courtney Thompson (S, 5-8, Kent, Wash., University of Washington)
5 – Tama Miyashiro (L, 5-7, Kaneohe, Hawaii, University of Washington)
8 – Lauren Gibbemeyer (MB, 6-2, St. Paul, Minn., University of Minnesota)
10 – Jordan Larson-Burbach (OH, 6-2, Hooper, Neb., University of Nebraska)
11 – Megan Hodge Easy (OH, 6-3, Durham, N.C., Penn State University)
12 – Kelly Murphy (OPP, 6-2, Wilmington, Ill., University of Florida)
15 – Kim Hill (OH, 6-4, Portland, Ore., Pepperdine University)
16 – Foluke Akinradewo (MB, 6-3, Plantation, Fla., Stanford University)
18 – Molly Kreklow (S, 6-0, Delano, Minn., University of Missouri)
20 – Cursty Jackson (MB, 6-2, Los Angeles, Calif., University of Arizona)
21 – Tori Dixon (MB, 6-3, Burnsville, Minn., University of Minnesota)
23 – Kelsey Robinson (OH, 6-2, Bartlett, Ill., University of Nebraska)
25 – Karsta Lowe (OPP, 6-4, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., UCLA)

Head Coach: Karch Kiraly
Assistant Coaches: Jamie Morrison and Tom Black
Technical Coordinator: Joe Trinsey
Athletic Trainer: Jill Wosmek