USA Volleyball Features Twenty-Five on Boys'...

Twenty-Five on Boys' Youth Roster

By B.J. Evans | May 27, 2015, 6 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 25, 2015) – USA Volleyball has announced the 25-player roster for the 2015 Boys’ Youth National Training Team. The team chosen from this group will compete at the FIVB Boys’ U19 World Championship on Aug. 14-23 in Argentina.

Nine players on the training team carry over from the 2014 Boys’ Youth National Team that won the NORCECA Continental Championship in Tulsa, Okla.: TJ DeFalco, Jordan Ewert, Dane Leclair, Micah Ma’a, Collin Mahan, Branden Oberender, Scott Stadick, Joshua Tuaniga and Joe Worsley.

DeFalco was named Most Valuable Player and Best Spiker of the NORCECA tournament. He is also on the U.S. Men's National Team preliminary roster for the FIVB World League and other events. If he makes a roster for the U.S. Men, he will not attend the Boys' Youth training camp.

Stadick was named Best Blocker. Ewert won Best Receiver. Ma’a was named Best Setter and Tuaniga took Best Server.


The 2015 training team will meet in July in Des Moines, Iowa, and train in conjunction with the USAV High Performance Championships. The team will be cut to 12 players to compete at the World Championship.

There are 11 outside hitters on the roster: DeFalco, Reese Devilbiss, Noah Dyer, Jordan Ewert, Sam Kobrine, Ma’a, Mahan, Dylan Missry and Corry Short. There are five middle blockers: Tyler Alter, George Huhmann, Oberender, Tyler Resnick and Stadick. There are four opposites: Kyle Ensing, Matt Klassen, Leclair and Bobby Wilden. The four setters on the training team are Paul Bischoff, Casey McGarry, Tuaniga and Michael Wexter. The liberos are Matt Douglas and Worsley.

The team’s head coach is Ken Shibuya, an assistant coach for Stanford’s men’s program. Kris Berzins of Loyola and Brad Keller of UCLA are the assistants. Kevin Burch of Ohio State is the statistician.

Name (Position, Hometown, USAV Region)
Tyler Alter (MB, Laguna Beach, Calif., Southern California)
Paul Bischoff (S, Wheaton, Ill., Great Lakes)
TJ DeFalco (OH, Huntington Beach, Calif., Southern California)
Reese Devilbiss (OH, Mount Wolf, Pa., Keystone)
Matt Douglas (L, Pacific Palisades, Calif., Southern California)
Noah Dyer (OH, San Clemente, Calif., Southern California)
Kyle Ensing (Opp, Valencia, Calif., Southern California)
Jordan Ewert (OH, Antioch, Calif., Northern California)
Chase Howard (OH, Virginia Beach, Va., Old Dominion)
George Huhmann (MB, High Ridge, Mo., Gateway)
Matt Klassen (Opp, Elm Grove, Wis., Badger)
Sam Kobrine (OH, Newport Coast, Calif., Southern California)
Dane Leclair (Opp, Pittsford, N.Y., Western Empire)
Micah Ma’a (OH, Kaneohe, Hawaii, Northern California)
Collin Mahan (OH, Victor, N.Y., Western Empire
Casey McGarry (S, Manhattan Beach, Calif., Southern California)
Dylan Missry (OH, Holbrook, N.Y., Garden Empire)
Branden Oberender (MB, Simi Valley, Calif., Southern California)
Tyler Resnick (MB, Newbury Park, Calif., Southern California)
Corry Short (OH, Lighthouse Point, Fla., Florida)
Scott Stadick (MB, Watertown, Wis., Badger)
Joshua Tuaniga (S, Long Beach, Calif., Southern California)
Michael Wexter (S, New Lenox, Ill., Great Lakes)
Bobby Wilden (Opp, Ashburn, Va., Chesapeake)
Joe Worsley (L, Moraga, Calif., Northern California)

Head Coach: Ken Shibuya
Assistant Coach: Kris Berzins
Assistant Coach: Brad Keller
Statistician: Kevin Burch

Related Athletes

head shot

TJ DeFalco