Ball Elected to International Volleyball Hall of Fame

By International Volleyball Hall of Fame | July 10, 2015, 9:48 a.m. (ET)

Lloy Ball (1) helped lead the U.S. Olympic Men's Volleyball Team to gold at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

HOLYOKE, Mass. (July 10, 2015) – The International Volleyball Hall of Fame announced today the names of four volleyball legends who will be inducted as the Class of 2015 into its hallowed halls on Oct. 24 in Holyoke, Mass., the sport’s birthplace.

The 30th induction class consists of male indoor volleyball players Lloy Ball of the United States and Renan dal Zotto of Brazil, female indoor volleyball player Helia Roergio de Souza ‘Fofão’ of Brazil, and coach Paulo Roberto “Bebeto” de Freitas of Brazil.

“The 2015 Volleyball Hall of Fame class represents four remarkable individuals who elevated the sport to new levels over a long period of time on the international stage,” said Doug Beal, co-chair of the Volleyball Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “This induction class upholds the highest qualities of the game through its athletes and coaches.”

The induction class is elected via a vote of current Volleyball Hall of Fame inductees. A total of 21 different countries are represented in the Volleyball Hall of Fame with at least one inductee. All told, 125 individuals will have been inducted into the International Volleyball Hall of Fame after this year’s enshrinement ceremony.

“The class of 2015 honors a diverse group of legendary players amassing 16 Olympic Games appearances among the four individuals and a coach who led his team to an Olympic silver medal,” said George Mulry, executive director of the Volleyball Hall of Fame. “These remarkable individuals have brought distinction to the sport over a number of years and we are humbled to honor them here in the birthplace of volleyball.”

“This year’s class represents the stars of the game from three decades,” said Al Monaco, co-chair of the Volleyball Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “The group includes five-time volleyball Olympian in Fofão, plus Lloy Ball who played in four Olympics and Renan who played in three Olympics. Bebeto was one of the top coaches during his time for Brazil and later Italy. It will be another remarkable October evening as we induct these four individuals into the International Volleyball Hall of Fame.”

The International Volleyball Hall of Fame induction festivities include a Mayor’s reception on Friday, Oct. 23, at Wistariahurst Museum in Holyoke, followed by the Ring and Plaque Ceremony inside the Volleyball Hall of Fame from noon to 1:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, Oct. 24, with the formal Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony taking place the evening of Oct. 24.

The International Volleyball Hall of Fame, incorporated in 1978, continues to create a more representative institution with inductees of both genders and disciplines – indoor volleyball and beach volleyball – coming from a wide range of countries. For additional information on attending the 2015 International Volleyball Hall of Fame induction ceremony, contact the Volleyball Hall of Fame at or visit the Hall’s website at

Lloy Ball is the only United States male player to play in four Olympic Games for indoor volleyball. After competing in the 1996, 2000 and 2004 Olympic Games, he capped his career with USA by winning gold at the 2008 Olympic Games. Ball was selected the most valuable player and Best Setter of the 2008 FIVB World League after pacing Team USA to the title weeks before the 2008 Olympic Games. He also earned bronze at the 1994 FIVB World Championship. Ball collected three CEV Champions League silver medals in the early 2000s with one coming with Italy’s Pallavolo Modena in 2002-03 and the other two with Greece’s Iraklis Thessaloniki in 2004-05 and 2005-06. After transferring to play for Russia’s Zenit Kazan, he earned the CEV Champions League gold medal in 2007-2008, followed by the silver medal in 2010-11 when he was selected as Best Setter.

Renan began his career with the Brazil National Team at the age of 16 and earned three trips to the Olympic Games. He paced Brazil to the silver medal at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles. Two years earlier Renan sparked Brazil to the silver medal at the 1982 FIVB World Championship. Following several seasons playing professionally in his native Brazil, Renan transferred to Italy to play for Maxicono of Parma and Messeggero Ravenna. He won two Italian Serie A1 championships, two Italian Serie A1 Cup titles, three European Supercup titles and one CEV Champions Cup title over five seasons. Renan garnered the distinction as the most spectacular player in the world, best defender in the world and world’s best striker of the 20th century in 2001.

Fofão became the first volleyball player to play in five Olympic Games that spanned the years from 1992 to 2008. As its setter, she led Brazil to its first-ever Olympic Games women’s volleyball gold medal in 2008 after securing bronze in 1996 and 2000 Olympic Games. She was selected Best Setter at the conclusion of the 2008 Olympic Games. Fofão collected silver medals at three FIVB World Championship events in 1994, 2006 and 2010. She earned silver medals at both the 2003 and 2007 FIVB World Cups, which included being honored as Best Setter in the 2007 event. Fofão reached the FIVB World Grand Prix medal podium five times with four gold medals (2004, 2005, 2006, 2008) and one silver medal (1999).

Bebeto coached the Brazil men’s national team to the 1984 Olympic Games silver medal in Los Angeles. He served as Brazil’s head coach during two tenures from 1980-84 and 1987-90. After his second tenure with Brazil, Bebeto moved on to coach Maxicono Parma in the Italian Serie A1 from 1990 to 1996. He accepted the head coaching position with the Italian men’s national team from 1996-99, leading Italy to the FIVB World Championship title in 1998. After a stint as president of Botafogo de Futebol e Regatas football club, Bebeto returned to his volleyball roots and remains as head coach for Turkish club Halbank Ankara. As a volleyball player, he competed for Brazil at the 1972 and 1976 Olympic Games.