2014 of the Year Awards: recap

Jan. 09, 2015, 3:18 p.m. (ET)

Indoor Team of the Year | Women’s National Team
The WNT captured the FIVB Women’s World Championship in October and soon after donned the No. 1 ranking in the world. READ MORE

Beach Team of the Year | Phil Dalhausser and Sean Rosenthal
Finishing the season ranked No. 2 by the FIVB after taking three gold medals, a silver and bronze on the FIVB World Tour. Not only that, the duo earned gold, silver and bronze on the AVP Tour in 2014. READ MORE

Men’s Team Player of the Year | Matt Anderson
For three consecutive years, Matt Anderson took home this title. Anderson led all players in scoring at World League during pool play finished third in scoring as the team took home the title. READ MORE

Men’s Team Rookie of the Year | Taylor Sander
Wrapping up his collegiate career on May 1, Taylor Sander moved to the Men’s National Team two weeks later and eventually was named the FIVB World League Most Valuable Player. During the World Championship, the rookie ranked in the top three in five stats. READ MORE

Men’s Team Most Inspirational | Sean Rooney
Sean Rooney helped the MNT win World League as the team’s fourth leading scorer and team captain. It is his second WL gold medal, this time though, Rooney played through injury to help the team claim the tournament. READ MORE

Female Indoor Player of the Year | Alisha Glass
Alisha Glass made starts for the WNT at the USAV Cup, FIVB World Grand Prix and FIVB World Championship. Setting the team to a 40.5 kill percentage at the World Championship, she was named the tournament’s Best Setter. READ MORE

Female Indoor Most Improved Player of the Year | Kim Hill
Kim Hill’s season saw an exceptional performance at the FIVB Women’s World Championship where she scored 20 points in the gold-medal match, earning her the tournament’s Most Valuable Player distinction. READ MORE

Female Beach Athlete of the Year | April Ross
Four gold medals on the FIVB World Tour are just the tip of the success April Ross had in 2014. Along with partner Kerri Walsh Jennings, she swept the AVP Tour, going 36-0 to that title. She has taken home the Beach Athlete of the Year award four times, the most for any athlete since the awards inception in 2007. READ MORE

Male Beach Athlete of the Year | Phil Dalhausser
This marks the fifth time Phil Dalhausser has received Athlete of the Year honors. Despite suffering an abdominal strain that cut his season short, Dalhausser and partner Sean Rosenthal racked up the medals through the season, in all taking home eight medals between the FIVB grand slams and AVP Tour. READ MORE

Male Sitting Player of the Year | Eric Duda
Eric Duda led his squad in a four-match series against Canada and at the World ParaVolley Sitting World Championships. Duda will help guide the team at the Parapan American Games in the summer of 2015, an event that could give the team a berth to the 2016 Paralympic Games. READ MORE

Female Sitting Player of the Year | Kaleo Kanahele
Fresh out of high school and at the young age of 18, Kaleo Kanahele earned this accolade after a season that saw her be named the Best Setter of the World ParaVolley Sitting World Championship. Her leadership on the team helped the squad qualify for the 2016 Paralympics, a feat accomplished by taking silver at the World Championship. READ MORE