Hyden, Bourne Advance in China

By BJ Evans | April 22, 2014, 1:42 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 22, 2014) – The U.S. team of John Hyden (Pensacola, Fla.) and Tri Bourne (Aiea, Hawaii)  advanced to the main draw of the FIVB Fuzhou Open in China with two victories in the qualifier on Tuesday.

Tri Bourne blocks against Greece
   Tri Bourne (2) blocks against Greece. 

Hyden and Bourne, seeded 11th in the qualifying bracket, opened the day by defeating Austria’s No. 22 Michael Murauer and Florian Schnetzer, 21-14, 21-16 in 37 minutes in the first round. In the second round, the U.S. pair beat Greece’s No. 6 Georgios Kotsilianos and Nikos Zoupani, 21-17, 21-18 in 31 minutes.

The U.S. team of Avery Drost (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) and Ty Tramblie (Newport Beach, Calif.), ranked No. 25, lost its first-round match to No. 8 Selçuk Sekerci and Murat Giginoglu of Turkey, 21-16, 21-17 in 39 minutes.

Men’s main draw play will begin on Wednesday. The U.S. men’s team of Phil Dalhausser (Ormond Beach, Fla.) and Sean Rosenthal (Redondo Beach, Calif.) is seeded No. 2 and will play in Pool B, which will also include Switzerland’s No. 15 Sebastian Chevallier and Alexei Prawdzic, Latvia’s No. 18 Martins Plavins and Aleksandrs Solovejs and also China’s No. 31 Cong Yang and Jian Bao.

Hyden and Bourne are seeded No. 27 and are playing in Pool F along with Brazil’s No. 6 Alison Cerutti and Bruno Oscar Schmidt, Kazakhstan’s No. 11 Alexey Sidorenko and Alexandr Dyachenko and also Austria’s No. 22 Tobias Winter and Lorenz Petutschnig.

The women’s qualification bracket will begin on Wednesday with the U.S. women’s team of Allison Daley (Grass Valley, Calif.) and Kendra VanZwieten (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), seeded No. 25, facing Sweden’s No. 8 Nina Grawender and Karin Lundqvist in the first round.

The women’s main draw will begin on Thursday where the U.S. teams of Kerri Walsh Jennings (Saratoga, Calif.) and April Ross (Costa Mesa, Calif.); Jennifer Fopma (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Whitney Pavlik (Laguna Beach, Calif.) along with Lane Carico (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) and Brittany Hochevar (Fowler, Colo.) are already entered.