Day and Ross Win Gold at University Championships

Sept. 16, 2012, 8:25 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Communications
Phone: (719) 228-6800
@USA_Volleyball - @USAV Beach USAV Facebook

Full Women's Results * Full Men's Results

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 16, 2012) – The U.S. women’s beach volleyball team of Emily Day and Summer Ross won the gold medal on Sunday at the World University Championships in Maceio, Brazil.

In the final, Day (Torrance, Calif./Loyola Marymount) and Ross (San Diego, Calif./Pepperdine) defeated Spain’s Alejandra Simon and Cristina Hopf, 21-16, 21-19 in 37 minutes.

Emily Day (third from left) and Summer Ross (third from right) pose with the medal winners.

"It was my first (World University Championships) and a very tough competition,” Ross said in a press release. “And this medal is important. I want to continue my career in volleyball and hopefully get to the highest level, the Olympics.

"I love Brazil. I want to bring my family, preferably for the Olympics."

Day and Ross advanced to the final with a 21-8, 21-18 victory in 30 minutes over Czech Republic’s Martina Bonnerova and Barbora Hermannova.

Day and Ross went 7-0 in winning the tournament and 14-2 in sets.

While Day and Ross were playing in their first tournament together, Simon and Hopf have played together in other international tournaments and won the 2009 XVI Mediterranean Games.

Among the other U.S. beach volleyball teams competing in Maceio, Caitlin Ledoux (Phelan, Calif./Long Beach State) and Geena Urango (Los Alamitos, Calif./Univ. of Southern California) placed fifth in the women’s bracket. The U.S. men’s team of Jeremy Casebeer (Santa Barbara, Calif./UCLA) and Will Montgomery (Santa Barbara, Calif./UC Irvine) placed seventh while Adam Cabbage (Rio Rancho, N.M./Univ. of New Mexico) and Connor Hughes (Costa Mesa, Calif./UC Irvine) finished 13th.

More than 40 teams representing 17 countries from the Americas, Europe and Asia are participating in this International University Sports Federation (FISU) event. Players from Brazil, Canada, Chile, Paraguay, Japan, Poland, China, Slovakia, Thailand, Russia, Spain, United States, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Saudi Arabia, Austria and Chinese Taipei are competing.

The U.S. women’s team of Chrissie Zartman and Tracy Lindquist won the gold medal at the World University Championships in 2004. The U.S. men’s team of Mark VanZweiten and Joey Dykstra won the bronze medal at the 2008 Championships while John Mayer and Matt Prosser took bronze in 2006.

For more information, click here.

Photo information: Emily Day, center left, and Summer Ross, center right, wear their gold medals on the podium of the World University Championships in Brazil. Photo courtesy FISU