2013 World League to Include More Teams

Dec. 03, 2012, 4:38 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Communications
Phone: (719) 228-6800
E-Mail: bj.evans@usav.org
@USA_Volleyball - USAV Facebook

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Dec. 3, 2012) – The U.S. Men’s National Volleyball Team will share Pool A  with Brazil, Poland, Bulgaria, Argentina and France in an expanded FIVB World League competition in 2013.

The FIVB World League Council confirmed the structure of the 2013 edition of the annual men’s event on Saturday from its meeting in Lausanne with the competition increasing from 16 to 18 teams split into three pools of six.

Pools A and B are determined using the serpentine system based on the world rankings as of Aug. 13, 2012. The U.S. Men, who won the silver medal at the 2012 World League, are ranked No. 5 in the world. Brazil is ranked No. 1 in the world and Poland, the 2012 World League champion, is No. 4. Bulgaria is eighth, Argentina is ninth and France is 16th.

Pool B will include 2012 Olympic champion Russia (WR2), Italy (WR3), Cuba (WR6), Serbia (WR7), Germany (WR10) and Iran (WR14)

Pool C will feature teams ranked as the next best four in the world rankings after the 12 teams in Pool A and B – Canada (WR18), Korea (WR22), Finland (WR31), the Netherlands (WR41) – plus two additional teams, which will be confirmed by the FIVB Executive Committee during its end of year meeting on December 15.

The top three world ranked teams in each pool will play three matches at home and two away with the bottom three world ranked teams playing twice at home and three times away.

The Intercontinental Round is expected to start on May 31 with each pool playing over five weekends before the Finals on July 16-21. The precise calendar will be confirmed at a later date, according to an FIVB press release.

Eight teams will qualify for the World League Finals featuring the top three teams from Pools A and B, plus the winner of Pool C and the host country. The confirmation of the host country of the World League Finals is expected by the end of January.

The U.S. Men’s National Team won the FIVB World League in 2008 and finished third in 1992 and 2007 before winning the silver medal in 2012.

For more information on the FIVB World League, visit the FIVB web site.