Joseph B. “Joe” Sharpless Arbitrator’s Service Award

Named in honor of Joseph B. “Joe” Sharpless, vice president emeritus, past corporate secretary, 23-year vice president and 35-year member of the Board of Directors and a former event arbitrator. He was instrumental in the development and implementation of the event arbitrator program.

    COMMISSION: This award recognizes individuals who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the corporation’s event arbitration program.
    COMMITTEE CHAIR: Jon Lee/Angelo Iasillo
    CRITERIA: Candidates for this award shall have served as an event arbitrator for a minimum of five (5) years, AND: A minimum of five (5) USA Volleyball Championship Events, OR A minimum of ten (10) USA Volleyball National Qualifier events, OR An equivalent combination of both of the above, as recommended by the Chair of the Ethics & Eligibility Committee and approved by the CEO; Additionally, the candidate shall have demonstrated: Ability to administer the arbitration process with fairness and integrity; Ability to conduct arbitration cases without bias in an efficient and effective manner, and in a confidential manner; Consistent preparation for all assignments; Comprehensive knowledge of corporate policies, procedures, rules and regulations governing USA Volleyball National Championship, Invitational and Qualifier events; Implementation of follow-up and reporting procedures in a clear, efficient and timely manner, as required by the assigning officer; Leadership with the arbitrator program by means of recommendations for program improvement and enhancement
    Award Recipients: One individual may receive this award in any given year; It is not required there be a recipient every year; An individual shall receive this award only once.

2006: Joseph B. Sharpless
2007: Lea S. Wagner
2008: Jonathan “Jon” Lee
2009: Chuck McCracken
2010: Angelo Iasillo
2011: Christena Clauss
2012: Karen Gee
2013: Bill Jones
2014: Joan Powell
2015: David M. Lockwood
2016: Julie Voeck
2017: Gary Hougton
2018: Niels P. Pedersen
2019: Allen Chinn