USA Triathlon News Articles Seely Extends Win St...

Seely Extends Win Streak to Seven with Victory at ITU World Paratriathlon Montreal

By USA Triathlon | June 28, 2019, 3:59 p.m. (ET)

MONTREAL, Québec — Allysa Seely (Glendale, Ariz.) earned her seventh consecutive victory in ITU paratriathlon competition Friday, earning a gold medal in Montreal at the last regular-season race of the 2019 ITU World Paratriathlon Series. Seely shared the women’s PTS2 podium with U.S. teammate and training partner Hailey Danz (Wauwatosa, Wis.), who took silver. In total, five U.S. elite paratriathletes reached the podium on Friday.

Seely covered the 750-meter swim, 20-kilometer bike and 5-kilometer race in 1 hour, 20 minutes, 12 seconds, using a race-leading 24:57 run split to move into the lead. It was one of the closest women’s PTS2 races of the season, as Seely finished just seven seconds ahead of Danz. Finland’s Liisa Lilja rounded out the podium with bronze in 1:21:33.  

In the women’s PTS4 division, Kelly Elmlinger (San Antonio, Texas) earned her third straight WPS medal with a silver. Elmlinger had the fastest run of the field, clocking a 21:19 5k to secure her podium spot with a total time of 1:14:35. Great Britain’s Hannah Moore was the women’s PTS4 champion in 1:11:29, and Japan’s Mami Tani took third in 1:18:11.

Jamie Brown (Bend, Ore.) was the bronze medalist in the men’s PTS4 division, earning his second WPS medal of the season in another close race. While France’s Alexis Hanquinquant earned the decisive victory in 1:00:48, the next seven athletes across the line finished within two minutes of each other. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero of Spain claimed silver in 1:03:54; Brown was 17 seconds behind him for bronze; and fourth-place finisher Antonio Franko of Croatia was another 17 seconds back from Brown.

Grace Norman (Cedarville, Ohio), reached the podium in the women’s PTS5 division, earning bronze with a time of 1:09:13. It was her first time this season competing against defending world champion Lauren Steadman of Great Britain. Steadman’s compatriot, defending world silver medalist Claire Cashmore, took the win this time in 1:06:13. Steadman was just behind her in 1:06:22, and Norman came across the line third in 1:09:13.

Also competing for the U.S. on Friday were Allan Armstrong (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Adam Popp (Arlington, Va.), who placed fourth and fifth respectively in the men’s PTS2 division; Chris Hammer (Salt Lake City, Utah), who was sixth for the PTS5 men; Elizabeth Baker (Signal Mountain, Tenn.) and Amy Dixon (Encinitas, Calif.), who were fourth and fifth respectively in the women’s PTVI race; and Brad Snyder (Baltimore, Md.), who took fourth for the PTVI men.

The elite ITU paratriathlon circuit continues with the Magog ITU Paratriathlon World Cup on July 13, followed by the Tokyo ITU World Olympic Qualification Event on Aug. 17. The ITU Paratriathlon World Championships wrap up the season on Sept. 1 in Lausanne, Switzerland. 

2019 ITU World Paratriathlon Montreal
750m swim, 20k bike, 5k run | Complete Results

PTS2 Women
1. Allysa Seely (Glendale, Ariz.), 1:20:12
2. Hailey Danz (Wauwatosa, Wis.), 1:20:19
3. Liisa Lilja (FIN), 1:21:33

PTS2 Men
1. Jules Ribstein (FRA), 1:07:26
2. Lionel Morales (ESP), 1:09:56
3. Maurits Morsink (NED), 1:10:32
4. Allan Armstrong (Colorado Springs, Colo.), 1:14:55
5. Adam Popp (Arlington, Va.), 1:18:33

PTS4 Women
1. Hannah Moore (GBR), 1:11:29
2. Kelly Elmlinger (San Antonio, Texas), 1:14:35
3. Mami Tani (JPN), 1:18:11

PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant (FRA), 1:00:48
2. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero (ESP), 1:03:54
3. Jamie Brown (Bend, Ore.), 1:04:11

PTS5 Women
1. Claire Cashmore (GBR), 1:06:13
2. Lauren Steadman (GBR), 1:06:22
3. Grace Norman (Cedarville, Ohio), 1:09:13

PTS5 Men
1. Stefan Daniel (CAN), 57:30
2. Martin Schulz (GER), 58:03
3. George Peasgood (GBR), 58:09
6. Chris Hammer (Salt Lake City, Utah), 1:00:48

PTVI Women
1. Susana Rodriguez (ESP), 1:08:32
2. Jessica Tuomela (CAN), 1:11:57
3. Alison Peasgood (GBR), 1:15:04
4. Elizabeth Baker (Signal Mountain, Tenn.), 1:16:59
5. Amy Dixon (Encinitas, Calif.), 1:19:56

1. Dave Elliis (GBR), 1:00:23
2. Héctor Catalá Laparra (ESP), 1:01:06
3. Jose Luis García Serrano (ESP), 1:02:10
4. Brad Snyder (Baltimore, Md.), 1:02:47

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 events and connects with more than 400,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work at the grassroots level with athletes, coaches, and race directors — as well as the USA Triathlon Foundation — USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC). 


Related Athletes

head shot

Allysa Seely

head shot

Hailey Danz

head shot

Jamie Brown

head shot

Grace Norman