Tim O’Donnell, Sarah True Finish Fourth to Lead Americans at IRONMAN World Championship

By USA Triathlon | Oct. 13, 2018, 11:19 p.m. (ET)

Sarah True

KAILUA-KONA, Hawaii — The 40th anniversary of the iconic IRONMAN race was marked by Germany’s Patrick Lange and Switzerland’s Daniela Ryf smashing course records, while Tim O’Donnell and Sarah True posted a pair of fourth-place finishes to lead the Americans on the storied course.

Lange clocked in at 7 hours, 52 minutes, 39 seconds to break the course record he set last year by 9 minutes. Belgium’s Bart Aernouts also broke the 8-hour barrier on the 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run course, finishing second in 7:56:41, while David McNamee of Great Britain took third for the second straight year with a time of 8:01:09.

Kona veteran O’Donnell (Boulder, Colo.) finished fourth in 8:03:17 to lead the U.S. men. Matthew Russell (Sarasota, Fla.) finished sixth in 8:04:41 in an act of redemption after a vehicle collision on the same course one year ago, and Andy Potts (Colorado Springs, Colo.) finished eighth in 8:09:34.

Josh Amberger of Australia led the field out of the water, completing the 2.4-mile swim in 47:39. O’Donnell exited the swim just 6 seconds back in fourth position, with fellow American Matt Chrabot (Boulder, Colo.) not far behind in ninth with a gap of 19 seconds.

O’Donnell and Chrabot each took a turn leading the field on the bike before compatriot Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda, Ill.) and Cameron Wurf of Australia broke away from the field in a battle for the best bike split. Wurf was first into the second transition with a bike course record, more than 2 minutes ahead of Starykowicz. O’Donnell was back more than 6:30 in ninth position but thanks to a speedy transition, he began the run in third.

Lange started the run in eighth position but wasted no time running down the field, passing Wurf around the 10-mile mark and continuing to build a solid lead. Aernouts moved into second place by the 12-mile mark, and McNamee solidified his podium spot by the 20-mile mark, but O’Donnell and Australia’s Braden Currie kept fighting until the final mile when O’Donnell made a break to confirm his fourth-place finish. Russell began the run in 15th and moved into sixth by the 20-mile mark, holding his position through the finish.

Ryf’s fourth consecutive win on the Kona course also set a new course record as she took the tape in 8:26:18, more than 24 minutes faster than her 2017 time. Lucy Charles of Great Britain once again finished second, posting a time of 8:36:34, while Anne Haug of Germany took third in 8:41:58. True finished in 8:43:43 for fourth in her IRONMAN World Championship debut.

Charles had eyes on the lead from the start, breaking the swim course record in 48:13 and exiting the water nearly 3 minutes ahead of Lauren Brandon (Dallas, Texas). True was well positioned out of the water, about 4 minutes back from Charles. Ryf was further back, with a gap of 9 minutes at the end of the swim due to a jellyfish sting.

Charles took advantage of her early lead, but Ryf quickly picked off the rest of the field and moved into second position on the bike by the 42-mile mark, trailing Charles by 8 minutes, before catching her just after the 100-mile mark. Great Britain’s Corinne Abraham and Australia’s Sarah Crowley finished the bike ahead of True as the field set out in search of podium spots with the marathon still to go.

From the start of the run, Ryf held nothing back, growing her lead with every mile. By the midway point, Ryf had gained a lead of more than 6 minutes and she had no intention of slowing down. True ran her way into third around the 10-mile mark with Haug running a similar pace and trailing by just over a minute. Haug made her move with less than 4 miles to go in the race, passing True and hanging onto third for the podium.

Other U.S. women finishing in the top 20 include Linsey Corbin (Missoula, Mont.), who was 10th in 8:58:57; Sarah Piampiano (San Rafael, Calif.), 11th in 9:01:55; Heather Jackson (Bend, Ore.), 14th in 9:09:14; and Jodie Robertson (Melville, N.Y.), 20th in 9:16:35.

Twenty-one U.S. age-group athletes finished in the top-three in their respective divisions, led by world champions Richard Sweet (M55-59, San Diego, Calif.), Missy LeStrange (F65-69, Visalia, Calif.), Bobbe Greenberg (F70-74, Highland Park, Ill.) and Robert Plant (M75-79, Woodside, Calif.). LeStrange earned the world champion title in her age group for the second consecutive year.

In the women's physically challenged division, Sarah Reinertsen (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.) earned the runner-up spot with a time of 14:41:04. Daniel Garcia (Victorville, Calif.) reached the podium in the men's physically challenged division, taking third in 12:02:28.

For complete results and event information for the 2018 IRONMAN World Championship, visit IRONMAN.com.

2018 IRONMAN World Championship
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

Elite Men

1. Patrick Lange (GER), 7:52:39
2. Bart Aernouts (BEL), 7:56:41
3. David McNamee (GBR), 8:01:09

U.S. Finishers
4. Tim O’Donnell (Boulder, Colo.), 8:03:17
6. Matthew Russell (Sarasota, Fla.), 8:04:45
8. Andy Potts (Colorado Springs, Colo.), 8:09:34
33. Matt Hanson (Storm Lake, Iowa), 8:39:58
40. Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda, Ill.), 8:52:41
43. Matt Chrabot (Boulder, Colo.), 9:03:26
Kevin Collington (Orlando, Fla.) DNF

Elite Women
1. Daniela Ryf (SUI), 8:26:16
2. Lucy Charles (GBR), 8:36:32
3. Anne Haug (GER), 8:41:57

U.S. Finishers
4. Sarah True (Hampstead, N.H.), 8:43:42
10. Linsey Corbin (Missoula, Mont.), 8:58:57
11. Sarah Piampiano (San Rafael, Calif.), 9:01:55
14. Heather Jackson (Bend, Ore.), 9:09:14
20. Jodie Robertson (Melville, N.Y.), 9:16:35
22. Beth McKenzie (Encinitas, Calif.), 9:18:08
30. Jocelyn McCauley (Cincinnati, Ohio), 9:49:06
Lesley Smith (Boulder, Colo.) DNF
Meredith Kessler (San Francisco, Calif.) DNF
Lauren Brandon (Dallas, Texas) DNF

U.S. Age Group Top-Three Finishers


3. Julia Slyer (Averill Park, N.Y.), 10:23:45

2. Nicholas Noone (Parker, Colo.), 9:05:04

3. Hilary Fenton (Findlay, Ohio), 9:44:38

2. Clay Emge (Tyler, Texas), 8:37:35
3. Ryan Giuliano (Oakwood Hills, Ill.), 8:40:09

3. Meghan Fillnow (Charlotte, N.C.), 9:57:30

2. Sharon Schmidt-Mongrain (Lafayette Hill, Pa.), 9:48:39
3. Amy Farrell (Tupper Lake, N.Y.), 9:49:30

3. Diana Hassel (Fort Collins, Colo.), 10:36:01

3. Leslie Knibb (Washington, D.C.), 11:15:57

1. Richard Sweet (San Diego, Calif.), 9:14:23
3. Thomas Trauger (Las Vegas, Calif.), 9:49:32

1. Julia Daggett (Gainesville, Fla.), 11:41:44
3. Julie Moss (Cardiff, Calif.), 12:08:40

1. Missy LeStrange (Visalia, Calif.), 12:28:43
2. Sharon Keith (Honolulu, Hawaii), 13:24:45
3. Mary Houbolt (Plymouth, Mass.), 13:34:49

2. Tom Kinneman (North Andover, Mass.), 11:38:15

1. Bobbe Greenberg (Highland Park, Ill.), 14:28:50

1. Robert Plant (Woodside, Calif.), 13:06:03
3. Gennaro (Jerry) Magliulo (New Port Richey, Fla.), 13:45:16

2. Sarah Reinertsen (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.), 14:41:04

3. Daniel Garcia (Victorville, Calif.), 12:02:28

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 events and connects with more than 400,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).